Open Nav

The Vamps "Wake Up" Album Review

Posted on November 27, 2015

If you aren’t familiar with the British pop-rock band The Vamps, it’s time to get familiar.

Consisting of Brad Simpson on lead vocals and guitar, James McVey on lead guitar and vocals, Connor Ball bass guitarist and vocals and Tristan Evans drums and vocals, the boys just dropped their sophomore album Wake Up, which impressively contains 18-songs and another extra special treat: a free concert DVD from their recent sold out and headlined shows at London’s iconic O2 Arena. If the lads hadn’t already proved to the public that they are proper “real band” and not a typical “boyband,” the four-piece late teens and early 20 boys certainly prove so on this album.

On tracks like “Volcano,” lead vocalist Brad Simpson impresses listeners with his sharp and full-range vocals, in addition to the impactful drum and bass played by Connor Ball and Tristan Evans, respectively. Not to mention, rapper, Silento, also drops an impressive rap hook on the track:

The boys explore both edgy lyrics and safer ones, for instance, tracks such as “I Found a Girl” they talk boldly of the fear of falling in love with a woman who turns out to swing the other way, while tracks like “Runaway” explore safer and lighter typical “pop-rock” lyrics.  

The Vamps absolutely prove on Wake Up that all band members across the board are more than capable to play and sing professionally; Their impressive vocals and instrument uses paired with their pop-rock lyrics on the album make it a difficult piece of work to turn away from.

Oh, and if it wasn’t already on your radar, keep an eye open for their new single “Rest Your Love,” officially released today.

Listen to Wake Up below: