Open Nav


For immediate release  



New Album, Youngblood Available Now For Pre-Order


“Meet You There” North American Summer Tour Kicks Off on August 27, in Toronto


13 APRIL 2018 (Toronto, ON) – Coinciding with the album pre-order launch for Youngblood, the third studio album from 5 Seconds of Summer (5SOS), the band shared the title track via Capitol Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. 5SOS co-wrote the hard-hitting track with Andrew Watt and Ali Tamposi – the team behind Camila Cabello’s “Havana”. Leading up to its release, fans who pre-order the album will instantly receive the new track, “Youngblood” and the first single, “Want You Back”. See below for full album track listing.


With the spring 5SOS3 tour completely sold out, including the Toronto date at the Danforth Music Hall on April 13, the band is making good on its promise to fans for a more extensive outing, including larger venues and amphitheatres across the run. The 25-city North American “Meet You There” Summer Tour is set to launch on August 27 at RBC Echo Beach in Toronto, ON, concluding on October 12 with a concert at Los Angeles’ Greek Theatre. Tickets are on sale now at, and a copy of the forthcoming album is included with each ticket purchase. Full list of tour dates available online here.


This week, 5SOS performed their new hit single, “Want You Back”, on NBC’s The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. The track, which debuted at No. 1 on iTunes in over 18 countries and has already amassed more than 60 million streams worldwide. An acoustic version of “Want You Back” is out now, along with “Want You Back” (Tritonal Remix). The official video, which was directed by James Larese (Eminem, Fall Out Boy, Imagine Dragons), can also be seen here


“Want You Back” showcases the bold new approach 5SOS takes on Youngblood. Following the Australian group’s five-plus years of recording and touring behind its first two albums – both of which debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 – 5SOS decamped across the hemisphere to Los Angeles to find a new set of collaborators, influences, and inspirations.


Vocalist/guitarist Luke Hemmings says, “We had to move forward and test our songwriting and progress. It was the greatest thing we could do - we were hungry for something new and exciting. It felt like starting the band again!”


Hemmings’ skills on the piano can be heard on the new album, organically evolving the band’s original sound with rich melody and variety. Vocalist/drummer Ashton Irwin, meanwhile, found himself drawn to the local underground club scene, which he immediately brought into 5SOS’ creative vision.


“I loved that new wave could be really melancholy, but also up,” Ashton Irwin notes. “It had romanticism and anger, but also energy and color. That’s exactly what we wanted for our new music.”


While expanding its musical parameters on Youngblood, 5SOS retains the hooks and trademark DNA that’s always been a massive part of the band’s appeal. They wrote and recorded the bulk of the album with the Swedish producing-writing team Carl and Rami (Nicki Minaj, Madonna). Other collaborators include producer/instrumentalist Mike Elizondo (Dr. Dre, Eminem, Fiona Apple), producer/engineer Noah Passovoy (Maroon 5), J Kash (Maroon 5, Charlie Puth), Asia Whitacre (Hailee Steinfeld, Zedd) and Andrew Goldstein (Linkin Park, Simple Plan).


Hailed as the “biggest new rock act in the world” by Rolling Stone, 5SOS is the only band in history (not vocal group) to see their first two full-length studio albums debut at the top spot on both the Canadian Billboard Chart and US Billboard 200 chart.  5SOS’ debut album has sold more than three million units worldwide, with 1.5 million albums and more than 4.5 million single tracks sold in the U.S. alone.  Their second album, 2015’s Sounds Good Feels Good charted at No. 1 in 12 countries, including the U.S., the U.K. and Australia. “She’s Kinda Hot,” the album’s first single, topped the iTunes charts in 44 countries. Comprised of Luke Hemmings (vocals/guitar), Michael Clifford (vocals/guitar), Calum Hood (vocals/bass) and Ashton Irwin (vocals/drums), 5SOS has won an American Music Award, a People’s Choice Award, an iHeartRadio Music Award, five MTV European Music Awards, two ARIA Awards and an MTV Video Music Award.


Follow 5SOS:

Website / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram


(Photo credit: Alexandra Gavillet)


Pictured left to right: Michael Clifford (vocals/guitar), Ashton Irwin (vocals/drums), Luke Hemmings, (vocals/guitar), Calum Hood (vocals/bass)


Youngblood - Track Listing

  1. Youngblood
  2. Want You Back
  3. Lie To Me
  4. Valentine
  5. Talk Fast
  6. Moving Along
  7. Walls Could Talk
  8. Better Man
  9. More Spike
  10. Why Won't You Love Me
  11. Woke Up In Japan
  12. Empty Wallets
  13. Ghost Of You
  14. Monster Among Men
  15. Meet You There
  16. Babylon