Open Nav


Released 27 October 2023


Echoes Of Life – Deluxe Edition features 11 additional tracks by J.S. Bach, John Field, Chopin & Valentin Silvestrov plus a brand new work by Chilly Gonzales


Listen to Echoes Of Life – Deluxe Edition HERE


Performance highlights this season include Artist in Residence at London’s Southbank Centre and Radio France, plus a major tour of Echoes Of Life across Asia and New York Philharmonic Orchestra debut


27 OCTOBER 2023 (TORONTO, ON) -  Echoes Of  Life  –  Deluxe  Edition is released today (27 October 2023) by Alice Sara Ott on Deutsche Grammophon/Universal Music Canada. Echoes Of Life, Alice Sara Ott’s tenth album for Deutsche Grammophon/Universal Music Canada, was released to widespread acclaim in August 2021. While the programme has autobiographical origins for Ott, as she took it on tour she realised that it had equally intense personal resonances for her audiences, whose listening experience was enhanced by the immersive video installation specially designed by architect Hakan Demirel to accompany the performances.


As Ott begins her major Echoes Of Life Asia tour - taking in China, Hong Kong and Japan - she releases the Deluxe Edition, for which she has recorded 11 new tracks. The additional repertoire ranges from J.S. Bach, John Field and Chopin to Valentin Silvestrov, plus a brand new work written for her by Chilly Gonzales. It also sees Ott switch between grand and upright pianos.


Featuring extensive liner notes by Alice Sara Ott, Echoes Of Life – Deluxe Edition is released digitally and on 2 CDs on 27 October 2023, with the Bach Prelude in C major, BWV 846 (upright piano version) released the same day as an audio and video single. Ott’s recordings of Field’s Prelude in C minor (upright piano version) and Silvestrov’s Prelude No. 3 from Distant Music were released on 15 September and 13 October respectively.


“Her playing is technically unimpeachable, with beauty of tone,

virtuoso flair and fine musical judgment throughout”

BBC Music Magazine on Echoes Of Life


Hailed by Diapason as “striking for its sincerity and authenticity”, Echoes Of Life offered an individual and thought-provoking take on Chopin’s Bach-inspired 24 Préludes, Op. 28. Ott highlighted the works’ timeless nature by framing them with music by 20th- and 21st-century composers, including her own arrangement of fragments of the Lacrimosa from the Mozart Requiem. For the extended edition, she has chosen pieces connected with the music, composers and themes of the original album, but without imposing her own associations on them.


Alice Sara Ott embarks on a major tour of Asia performing the Echoes of Life programme in China, Hong Kong and Japan. Audiences will have their listening experience enhanced by the immersive video installation specially designed by architect Hakan Demirel to accompany the performances. In addition, the 2023-24 season sees Ott appear as Artist in Residence at London’s Southbank Centre and at Radio France; with performances including a new concerto written for her by Bryce Dessner (Paris - 9 February  and London - 15 February 2024) and a duo recital with Francesco Tristano (Paris - 14 May and London - 16 May 2024). The world premiere performance of the new concerto will be Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich and Kent Nagano in January 2024. She also makes her debut with the New York Philharmonic (4-6 April 2024). With global streams of 325 million and counting, Alice Sara Ott is known as one of the most compelling artists of her generation.


About Alice Sara Ott:


Alice Sara Ott – Echoes Of Life Asia tour dates:

30 October: Macao Cultural Center

1 November - Guangzhou, Xinghai

2 November: Shenzhen Concert Hall

5 November - Suzhou

7 November: Shanghai Grand Theater

9 November: Changsha Concert Hall

11 November: Xi’an Concert Hall

12 November: NCPA Beijing

20 November: Concert Hall, Hong Kong City Hall

22 November: Festival Hall, Osaka

25 November: Ashikaga Civic Plaza

26 November: Kenshin Cultural Hall, Fukushima

28 November: Kitara Hall, Sapporo

30 November: Sumida Triphony Hall, Tokyo

1 December: Act City Hamamatsu, Hamamatsu


For all concert dates: