Open Nav


View “Bad Dreams” Video, Directed By Sophie Muller, HERE


Pete Yorn & Scarlett Johansson   Photo Credit: Sophie Muller


1 June 2018 (Toronto, ON)Pete Yorn & Scarlett Johansson’s new EP, Apart (Capitol Records/Universal Music Canada), is now available HERE. The collection has been spotlighted as a key release in summer previews by Entertainment Tonight and Entertainment Weekly, with the latter noting, “Apart is a glittering, rock-hued follow-up to their 2009 debut set Break Up.” 


Certified Platinum in France, Yorn & Johansson’s Break Up charted on the Alternative and Rock album tallies in the U.S. as well as the Billboard 200. It contained nine songs – eight written by Yorn and a cover of Chris Bells’ “I Am The Cosmos.” 


Yorn, who is known for covering his biggest influences like The Smiths and Springsteen during his live shows, chose to cover a lesser-known song that he fell in love with the first time he heard it for Apart. That song is “Bad Dreams,” which was originally recorded as “Worried” by the Brooklyn-based band The Echo Friendly in 2012. The other four songs on Apart are originals penned by YornApart also includes a remixed version of “Tomorrow” featuring Johansson. The track initially appeared on Yorn’s 2016 release, ArrangingTime.


Conceived by legendary director Sophie Muller (Sade, Gwen Stefani, Annie Lennox), the official video for “Bad Dreams” takes Yorn and Johansson on a strange trip through the night where nothing is what it seems. Their relationship plays out through a series of surreal moments where roles are reversed, and suspicion is heightened. In the end, we don’t know if it was all a dream. View “Bad Dreams” HERE.


PAPER said, “[‘Bad Dreams’] is part-Lynchian mood piece and '80s synth-pop fantasy, and totally thrilling.” NYLON observed, “Though the title alludes to nightmares, the single is instead three minutes of pure pop bliss.” Idolator hailed the track as “a catchy and refreshingly adult anthem” while Stereogum noted, “‘Bad Dreams’ is a gleaming rocker that takes a lot of advantage of the nice contrast between Yorn and Johansson’s voices.”


Track Listing – Apart

  1. Iguana Bird
  2. Bad Dreams
  3. Movies
  4. Cigarillo
  5. Tomorrow (Remix ft. Scarlett Johansson)



Download/stream Apart HERE //