Open Nav


Licensed To Ill   13 SEPTEMBER 2016 (Toronto, ON) - The 30th Anniversary LP edition of Beastie Boys’ debut album Licensed To Ill  will be released on October 14 via Def Jam/Universal Music Canada, the country's leading music company.  This special reissue was cut from the original production masters and is presented on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl. Produced by Rick Rubin and Beastie Boys, Licensed To Ill was originally released November 15, 1986--making the B Boys the fifth artist to release a full length album on the original Def Jam label after LL Cool J, Slayer, Tashan and Oran “Juice” Jones. "The Breakthrough of ‘Licensed To Ill’ in 1986 paved the road legitimizing Rap to its USA masses, and set the barometer worldwide on the genre album format. This record also expanded Hip Hop diversity allowing Public Enemy's 'It Takes A Nation…' to be its antithesis." -- Chuck D, Public Enemy Licensed To Ill continues to loom large on the all-time greatest albums lists of Rolling Stone, QPitchfork, NME and various other forums for people to argue in comments sections. Virtually every track on the album was a hit single or fan favourite, including “Hold It Now, Hit It,” “The New Style,” “Paul Revere,” “Brass Monkey,” "(You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party)," "No Sleep Till Brooklyn” and more. Licensed To Ill was the first hip hop album ever to top the Billboard 200 and has been certified RIAA Diamond in the U.S. in 2015 for more than 10 million album sales. TRACKLISTING

  1. Rhymin & Stealin’
  2. The New Style
  3. She's Crafty
  4. Posse in Effect
  5. Slow Ride
  6. Girls
  7. (You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)
  8. No Sleep till Brooklyn
  9. Paul Revere
  10. Hold It Now, Hit It
  11. Brass Monkey
  12. Slow and Low
  13. Time to Get Ill