Open Nav


For immediate release




Available On CD and Digital, Heavy-Weight 180-Gram Black Vinyl and Exclusive Limited Edition Red Coloured Vinyl 


“As a rock duo, I thought we were every bit as good as Mick [Jagger] and Keith [Richards], or Axl [Rose] and Slash. Ziggy [Stardust] and Mick [Ronson] were the personification of that rock & roll dualism.” – David Bowie


13 APRIL 2018 (Toronto, ON) – Just announced, Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story (The Soundtrack), is set to release on June 8 via Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Available for pre-order now, the soundtrack will be available on CD and digital, heavy-weight 180-gram black vinyl and exclusive limited edition red-coloured vinyl, including extensive essay’s and liner notes. The soundtrack arrives the same day as the film, “Beside Bowie: the Mick Ronson Story”, available in DVD and Blu-Ray formats.


The soundtrack will be the first official career retrospective compilation for the guitar virtuoso.  As well as key tracks from Mick Ronson’s solo records, the compilation includes material from his key collaborations with David Bowie, Elton John, Ian Hunter, Queen and Michael Chapman. The album also includes a previously unreleased cover version of “This Is For You” by Def Leppard’s Joe Elliott and a piano tribute to Mick Ronson from David Bowie’s piano-man and band alumni, Mike Garson (David Bowie, Nine Inch Nails, Smashing Pumpkins).   


“Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story” producer/Director Jon Brewer (BB King: The Life of Riley, Nat King Cole: Afraid of the Dark, Jimi Hendrix: Guitar Hero, The Most Dangerous Band in The World) gained the unprecedented access and permission for use of materials relating to the life of rock hero Ronson, who was largely commercially over-looked despite his direct contribution and pivotal involvement in countless iconic compositions of Bowie and The Spiders from Mars.


Despite his production and guitar work with Lou Reed, Morrissey, Ian Hunter and Mott The Hoople, Bob Dylan, John Mellencamp and many others, it is Ronson’s dynamic support, contribution, and co-creation of the expansive and multi-faceted career of Bowie and in fact that era of music, that the film exposes. With exclusive voice over contributions from Bowie and exclusive contributions by Rick Wakeman, Joe Elliott, Roger Taylor, Ian Hunter, Angie Bowie and many more, “Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story” is a tribute to an uncomplicated man who achieved the pinnacle of success in the music industry as well as the rarefied respect from his contemporaries for his production and guitar skills.  


His humble beginnings (in the northern English city of Hull) underpinned the values and modest, unpretentious personality of Ronson. Originally working with Hull City Council while he pursued his craft with consummate dedication, word of his talent reached Bowie who grabbed at the chance to work with Ronson, and from there rock history was made.  “The Man Who Sold the World”, “Aladdin Sane”, “Hunky Dory”, “Jean Genie”, all were constructed with Ronson on guitar. In 1974 he was voted #2 'Best Guitarist' in Cream Magazine (notably Eric Clapton came in third).


Sadly, in 1993 Ronson passed away before receiving the recognition he so richly deserved before taking that final bow, as seen on film, at his last show. He had been making a solo album at the time, which was subsequently finished by his contemporaries. Emperor Media have achieved ultimate authenticity and access in chronicling the life and works of this man, an extraordinary talent who became a cornerstone of rock music and who stood ‘Beside Bowie’ during one of the most memorable periods of his dazzling career.


Full list of film contributors: Mike Garson, Mary Finnegan, Bob Harris, Jon Brewer, Suzi Ronson, Angie Bowie, Mick Ronson, Kevin Cann, David Stopps, Maggi Ronson, Tony Visconti, Dana Gillespie, Joe Elliott, Laurence Myers, Mick Rock, Rick Wakeman, Cherry Vanilla, Tony Zanetta, David Bowie, Ian Hunter, Lou Reed, Earl Slick, Lulu, Glen Matlock, Mark Nevin, Roger Taylor


“This film pays homage to the astoundingly modest virtuoso, without whom several artists’ albums (including Lou Reed’s Transformer) would be much the poorer” – The Guardian


“Jon Brewer’s new documentary provides great insight into the relationship between David Bowie and his guitarist, Mick Ronson (left, with Bowie). At its heart, this is a celebration of Ronson, who also worked with Bob Dylan, John Mellencamp and Lou Reed…” – The Daily Mail


““I didn’t really know what was going on, so I just stood on his left side so I could watch his hands.” And there, on David Bowie’s left side, stood Mick Ronson for 18 glorious months as Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars blazed a decidedly glamorous trail across the music scene. This exhaustive documentary from Jon Brewer explores Ronson’s contribution to Bowie’s music and career (clue: it was considerable)” – The Times


“Mick Ronson was a guitarist with a sound like no other. Between 1970 and 1974, he was the musical genius behind David Bowie's greatest run of albums, The Man Who Sold the World, Hunky Dory, Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane, and Pin Ups. Not only did he play guitar, he wrote the arrangements, baroque soundscapes that perfectly complemented Bowie's vision” – The Guardian


Beside Bowie: The Mick Ronson Story (The Soundtrack) – Track Listing:

  1. All The Young Dudes (Live) - Queen, Ian Hunter, David Bowie, Mick Ronson, Joe Elliott & Phil Collen
  2. Soulful Lady - Michael Chapman
  3. Madman Across The Water - Elton John
  4. Moonage Daydream - David Bowie
  5. Cracked Actor - David Bowie
  6. Time - David Bowie
  7. Once Bitten, Twice Shy - Ian Hunter
  8. I’d Give Anything To See You - Mick Ronson
  9. Hard Life - Mick Ronson
  10. Midnight Love - Mick Ronson
  11. Like A Rolling Stone - Mick Ronson
  12. This Is For You - Joe Elliott
  13. Heroes (Live) - Queen, David Bowie, And Mick Ronson
  14. Tribute To Mick Ronson - Mike Garson