Open Nav




I think the only way you can make a better rockabilly record is if you get Elvis to sing…” -- Brian Setzer

  20 MAY 2014 (Toronto, ON) – Iconic guitarist, songwriter, and vocalist Brian Setzer will release Rockabilly Riot: All Original – a straight-ahead rockabilly album from start to finish – on August 12 via Surfdog Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. The new album, featuring the high-octane first single Let’s Shake, marks Setzer’s first studio album since 2011’s Grammy Award-nominated album, Setzer Goes Instru-Mental!. Rockabilly Riot: All Original thrillingly comes alive with 12 new and original songs in pure rockabilly fashion. Setzer brings his trademark twang and fretboard fire, and he’s backed by three musicians that he says “are the best in their craft”: Mark Winchester (bass), Kevin McKendree (piano) and Noah Levy (drums). Recorded in Nashville, TN, the album was produced by Peter Collins (who’s handled the same honours for Setzer albums Vavoom! and The Dirty Boogie. “It’s funny how English people seem to have a more sensibility about what rockabilly music is, even though it was invented in the South,” says Setzer. “They seem to know what it should sound like.  Peter Collins is experienced and an accomplished producer, he’s done a lot of records, but he loves rockabilly music and he knows what it should sound like.” As Setzer explains about Rockabilly Riot: All Original, “I think this album sounds to me a little bit like the first Stray Cats record…its rockabilly songs.  It’s not just blues songs in the rockabilly style.  People like to call it ‘neo-billy’ I suppose, which is some invented word that somebody came up with, but if that’s the word they want to use, I’d like to go with that because it sounds to me like it’s very modern and fresh sounding rockabilly.”

  The track listing for Rockabilly Riot: All Original:
  1. Let’s Shake
  2. Rockabilly Blues
  3. Vinyl Records
  4. Lemme Slide
  5. Nothing Is A Sure Thing
  6. What’s Her Name
  7. Calamity Jane
  8. The Girl With The Blues In Her Eyes
  9. Stiletto Cool
  10. I Should Have Had A V8
  11. Blue Lights Big City
  12. Cock-a-Doodle Don’t
About Brian Setzer: Three-time Grammy Award-winner, Brian Setzer is a "Musician's Musician" credited with continually taking chances with innovative and daring musical styles, while single-handedly resurrecting two forgotten genres of music (rockabilly in the ‘80s and swing in the '90s).  Along the way, he has scored chart-topping hits throughout his decorated career as founder/leader of the Stray Cats, his 18-piece Brian Setzer Orchestra, and as a solo artist. He is consistently cited as one of the world’s greatest living guitarists, and has a best-selling, extensive line of elite Gretsch signature model guitars bearing his name. Brian made a cameo in the 1987 film, La Bamba (the biographical film written following the life and career of Chicano rock 'n' roll star Ritchie Valens), portraying rockabilly pioneer Eddie Cochran. In 2002, Brian earned the distinct honor of being one of the few musicians to be animated in an episode of The Simpsons, an episode which also featured rock 'n' roll legends Mick Jagger and Keith Richards.