Open Nav

Chvrches Announce New Album Love Is Dead

Share New Single “My Enemy” Feat. Matt Berninger

01 March 2018 (Toronto, ON) – CHVRCHES today announce their highly-anticipated new album Love Is Dead, due for release on May 25 through Glassnote Record/ Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Pre-order for Love Is Dead is available NOW.

CHVRCHES are Lauren Mayberry, Iain Cook and Martin Doherty. Love Is Dead is the band’s third album, following their debut The Bones of What You Believe (2013) and its acclaimed follow up Every Open Eye (2015). The soaring success of their first two albums propelled CHVRCHES into new levels of prominence. Love Is Dead is at times euphoric and others bittersweet, it is an album about growing up and “coming to terms with the fact that there are great things in the world and there are awful things in the world and that you can’t get one without the other,” says Mayberry.

Cook adds: “We’re fucked, the world is fucked. But there’s an ellipsis at the end. It’s Love Is Dead. Like, how did we get to this point? And how do we move on from this point? It’s Love Is Dead, we’re fucked, what’s next?”

For the first time in their career, Love Is Dead sees CHVRCHES welcome outside influences, with 2017 and 2018 GRAMMY Producer of the Year Greg Kurstin (Adele, Sia) co-producing nine of its 13 tracks, and Steve Mac, who produced “Miracle”.

Today also sees the release of a second song from the album, “My Enemy” featuring The National’s Matt Berninger. "We've all been huge fans of The National for a long time,” says Mayberry. “We had played a few festivals together but really got to know Matt when we were involved in 7 Inches For Planned Parenthood, a fundraising and awareness campaign that he spearheaded. It's really inspiring and reassuring to meet other artists you admire and realize that they are trying to do some good in the world. We kept in touch after that and, when it came time to record My Enemy, Iain and Martin suggested I email Matt to see if he'd like to sing on it. We never realistically thought he'd have time to do it but he replied right away and recorded the track at his house the next day.” Listen to “My Enemy” HERE.

“My Enemy” follows first single “Get Out”, which NPR called “the band's most ambitious pop effort to date, all without losing that distinct edge.” The song has been a mainstay of Spotify’s Global Viral chart since release and received a groundswell of critical acclaim.

Love Is Dead tracklisting

  1. Graffiti
  2. Get Out
  3. Deliverance
  4. My Enemy
  5. Forever
  6. Never Say Die
  7. Miracle
  8. Graves
  9. Heaven/Hell
  10. God’s Plan
  11. Really Gone
  12. ii
  13. Wonderland

Love is Dead bio LINK

Praise for “Get Out”

“Oh thank heavens, CHVRCHES are back!...It’s almost as if Lauren Mayberry’s voice was made to be matched with Kurstin behind the boards” - NY Magazine

“They’ve come back sleeker and shinier than ever” – Stereogum

“Chvrches are so good at making pop songs that you almost take them for granted, but perhaps it was about time they they reminded the world what they can do given a few synths, a drum machine, and a great frontperson.” – Noisey

 “‘Get Out’ backs up the band’s pop claims, bolstered by racing synths and a powerful chorus fit to blast off from big stages.” – Uproxx

“the track comes loaded with the sort of catchy rhythms and sparkling hooks fans have come to appreciate from Lauren Mayberry and the boys” - Consequence of Sound


Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram