Open Nav

Chvrches New Album ‘Every Open Eye’ Out September 25, Listen To 1st Single Now!



 album graphic



(TORONTO, ON – 16 July, 2015) -- Today, CHVRCHES announce the release of their anticipated second album, Every Open Eye, due September 25th on Glassnote Records / Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. The album is heralded by first single “Leave A Trace”, available to download now as an instant-grat for those pre-ordering the album.  Also, now through Wednesday, July 22nd at 10 PM EST fans can get access to pre-sale tickets for upcoming tour dates by preordering Every Open Eye from the CHVRCHES store HERE:[Insert D2C Store URL].

“Leave A Trace” is an exceptional calling card for CHVRCHES’ new record - displaying the band’s expanded sonic pallet, it mixes darkness and light with one of their biggest tunes to date, and some of Lauren Mayberry’s darkest-yet-defiant lyrics yet. In Mayberry’s own words, “a middle finger mic drop about not being told what to do”.

Listen to Leave A Trace:



PR Shot

Every Open Eye is the follow up to the band’s breakthrough debut album The Bones of What You Believe, which was released in autumn 2013 to widespread critical acclaim and went on to sell over 500,000 copies worldwide. They’ve clocked in 364 shows in 2 years, selling out venues across the world and making signature appearances at Coachella, Bonnaroo, Sasquatch, Lollapalooza, Australasia's Laneway Festival, Reading & Leeds, Summer Sonic in Japan and myriad others.

Late last year Iain Cook, Martin Doherty and Lauren Mayberry returned to their own Alucard Studios – a converted flat on the southside of Glasgow where their stunning debut was conceived – and began developing ideas they had recorded in venues during their time on the road. The band found riffs, loops and melodies they wanted to develop or started from scratch on the synths, pads and machines they had been gathering in their basement to create the instrumentals of the songs. Vocal melodies were developed as the songs took shape with the lyrics added last, developed from words and sentences from notebooks Mayberry had kept on tour.

Musically, Every Open Eye seeks to do more with less; to make something intense and urgent and visceral, using the basic tools of melody, rhythm and arrangement. Sonically, Every Open Eye develops CHVRCHES’ signature style, juxtaposing the light and the dark, creating their own brand of twisted pop music that uniquely merges the organic with the electronic, moulding sounds and ideas forged over two years on the road into an electronic-pop record with a heart.

Lyrically, Every Open Eye is not a breakup album. It is a record about past heartbreaks and getting over them (‘Leave A Trace’). About perspective and the benefit of hindsight. About being unapologetic and not being told what to do or who to be (“Bury It”, “Never Ending Circles”, “Playing Dead”). About moving on to better things, holding on to the good and letting go of the bad (“Down Side Of Me”, “Clearest Blue”, “Afterglow”.

CHVRCHES performed in Ottawa last night and will play their next Canadian gig in Pemberton this Sunday, July 19. More dates to be announced soon via

CHVRCHES - Every Open Eye tracklisting:

  1. Never Ending Circles
  2. Leave A Trace
  3. Keep You On My Side
  4. Make Them Gold
  5. Clearest Blue
  6. High Enough To Carry You Over
  7. Empty Threat
  8. Down Side Of Me
  9. Playing Dead
  10. Bury It
  11. Afterglow


Praise for the critically acclaimed debut album, The Bones Of What You Believe:

“Towering, impassioned, and life-affirming” - 8.5, Pitchfork

“Bones is full of incisive, sweeping songs made from last-ditch emotions.” - 4/5, Rolling Stone

“It’s hard to make pop like this; an album that’s so sonically uplifting even when it’s rooted in something much darker.” -  8/10, Spin

“The Bones of What You Believe” turns trance’s reassurance inside out; it’s an album of breakup and near-breakup songs, in which love and longing are less likely to be a Utopia than a trap.” - The New York Times

“Simply put, they’ve evolved from a hype band to something much more coveted: a great band.” - Consequence of Sound // // //