Open Nav

Cut Copy’s New Album, Haiku From Zero, Set To Release September 22

 For immediate release: 



Unveil New Single “Standing In The Middle Of The Field” Today

Digital, CD and LP Formats of Haiku From Zero, Available Now For Pre-Order

Announce Fall North American Headline Tour

10 AUGUST 2017 (TORONTO, ON) – Today, Cut Copy announces the release of their first proper studio album in nearly four years, and first with Astralwerks, Haiku From Zero out September 22 via Astralwerks/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Today, the band launched the album pre-order for the digital, CD and LP formats, and unveiled the second single from the album, “Standing in the Middle of the Field”, available now to stream/download. Amid a backdrop of loping kalimbas, cowbells and bubbly synths, lead singer Dan Whitford’s plaintive voice offers some emotional advice in the lyrics, “You gotta give up the things you love to make it better.” The song announces a theme that percolates throughout Haiku From Zero – the need to cut through the noise, a desire to focus.

“So much of this album is about this mosaic of information, images that we're surrounded by on a day-to-day basis,” says Dan Whitford. “Sometimes it feels like overload, but there's a weird random beauty in it. The idea of squeezing poetry from chaos was where the title of the album came from – the idea of finding something poetic in the overload.”

The band has also announced a North American headline tour that kicks off in November, with two Canadian dates in Toronto (November 21) and Montreal (November 22). Full list of tour dates and ticket information available online.

Fans who pre-order the digital version of Haiku From Zero, instantly receive new single, “Standing in the Middle of the Field” and previously released, “Airborne”, which has already received critical acclaim.  PASTE Magazine praised the infectious single noting, “The track is an airy, confident, synth-disco-driven pop gem that you’ll want to listen to on repeat, exemplifying Cut Copy’s effortless appeal to both those rave-y/club kids and more song-based listeners.” Watch the accompanying video for “Airborne”, directed by Gerson Aguerri (The Vaccines, Breakbot) of the Barcelona-based production company CANADA, HERE.

Written and recorded at studios around the world (Melbourne, Copenhagen, Washington, DC, New York, Atlanta), the nine tracks on Haiku From Zero present a united sonic front, due in no small part to the guiding ear of producer Ben Allen (Deerhunter, Animal Collective, Neon Indian). Songs like “Counting Down” and “Living Upside Down” offer glimpses of beauty in a state of disco-fueled flux. Full track listing below.

Initially a bedroom recording project by frontman Dan Whitford, Cut Copy evolved into a full-fledged band with guitarist Tim Hoey, drummer Mitchell Scott, and bass player Ben Browning. The quartet’s four studio albums include 2011’s Zonoscope, which won two ARIA Awards and was nominated for a GRAMMY, and 2013’s Free Your Mind, which Under The Radar awarded 8 out of 10 stars.

The band’s songs have been licensed songs for use in television, games and commercials, including Chevrolet, Netflix, Amazon and Levi’s® #LiveinLevis campaign. DJing and mixes have also been a big part of Cut Copy’s identity – from the band’s famed Fabric mix, Fabriclive.29, to the 2014 Melbourne dance compilation, Oceans Apart.

Cut Copy - Tim Hoey, Mitchell Scott, Dan Whitford, Ben Browning


 (Photo Credit: Jimmy Fontaine)

Follow Cut Copy:

Website | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube | Twitter

Track Listing – Haiku From Zero

  1. Standing In the Middle of the Field                          
  2. Counting Down                
  3. Black Rainbows                
  4. Stars Last Me a Lifetime               
  5. Airborne                             
  6. No Fixed Destination                     
  7. Memories We Share                      
  8. Living Upside Down                       
  9. Tied to the Weather      

Cut Copy – Fall Canadian Tour Dates

  • 11/21 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
  • 11/22 – Montreal, QC @ Virgin Mobile Corona Theatre