Open Nav



“Dan Hicks is fly, sly, wily and dry!” TOM WAITS

20 JANUARY 2017 (Toronto, ON) –  “Dan Hicks is an American Treasure,” so says Elvis Costello and perhaps half of the music world who worshiped Hicks and his timeless tunes. Dan Hicks created a pioneering blend of hipster jazz, gypsy swing, and country that still resonates as strongly today as it did when Dan Hicks and the Hot Licks came roaring onto the scene with their unique, genre-bending sound in the late ’60s -- when rock was getting louder, Hicks threw it back to a simpler time. As we mark the first anniversary of his passing (February 6th) Surfdog Records is paying tribute to the legend of Dan Hicks with a compilation album in celebration of his life and legacy. Greatest Licks – I Feel Like Singin’ is set for vinyl & CD release, as well as digital, on February 24 via Universal Music Canada, the country's leading music company, with pre-orders available now. Since the beginning, Hicks deftly blended elements of multiple American musical art forms to create a sound that the New York Times calls “defiantly unfashionable, proudly eccentric & foot-tappingly catchy.”  His lyrics range from the simply sublime to the sublimely ridiculous, all presented with his uniquely skewed and inscrutable touch.  Songs like How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away?, as described again by the Times, “display his dry and often absurd wit, as did his gently self-mocking stage presence.” But Hicks had his serious side as well; I Scare Myself, described as “a longtime staple of his repertoire, was a brooding, hypnotic ballad about being afraid to love.”  Hicks' irresistible sense of rhythm, hip lyrical styling, laid back vocalizing, and infamous on-stage wit lasted well through his final recordings on Surfdog. Dan Hicks was revered by his musical peers, never following the status quo. As friend and famed producer Tommy LiPuma put it, “Dan was short on bullshit, and long on talent.” Featuring 11 classic Dan Hicks and the Hot Licks songs (the CD & digital versions contain a 12th bonus track), this amazing anthology from one of music’s true originals, showcases Hicks’ musical genius and encapsulates his unparalleled career.

“On my dying day I will explain to the world how lucky they have been to be alive the same time as me.”       – Dan Hicks, 2013

Pre-order Greatest Licks – I Feel Like Singin’ at Amazon & iTunes

  Track Listing for Greatest Licks – I Feel Like Singin’:
  1. Strike It While It’s Hot!
  2. Where’s The Money?
  3. That Ain’t Right
  4. I Scare Myself
  5. I Don’t Want Love
  6. Tangled Tales
  7. How Can I Miss You When You Won’t Go Away?
  8. The Piano Has Been Drinkin’
  9. That’s Where I Am
  10. Hey Bartender
  11. I Feel Like Singin’
  12. The Blues My Naughty Baby Gave To Me*