Open Nav

Daughter Announce April 30 for If You Leave

 Photo credit: Eliot Lee Hazel

  10 JANUARY 2013 (Toronto, ON) – Daughter’s highly anticipated debut album If You Leave has today been announced for an April 30 release through Glassnote/Universal Music Canada (UMC), the country’s leading music company.   If You Leave was recorded over a period of months at home and in various spaces across London. Production was overseen by Daughter guitarist Igor Haefeli with additional production from Rodaidh McDonald (The xx, Adele) and Jolyon Vaughan Thomas (Maps). The album was mixed by Ken Thomas (Sigur Ros, M83) at High Bank Studio and mastered by Geoff Pesche at Abbey Road Studios.   Less of a statement of intent, these ten songs are more of a snapshot of a year in Daughter's short life. Lyrically, Elena explores the depths of her psyche to reveal her innermost thoughts, finding comfort in expounding those internal demons. If You Leave is a bold move for an act still in its infancy, displaying a maturity that belies their youth.   Daughter is vocalist/guitarist Elena Tonra, electric guitarist Igor Haefeli and drummer Remi Aguilella. Daughter came together in late 2010, and have watched their star gently rise, collecting fans one-by-one as their demo tracks started to spread amongst enthusiastic friends and bloggers online. The band self-released their debut EP, His Young Heart in April 2011 and immediately caught attention of critics and fans alike. Glassnote/UMC released their second EP, The Wild Youth, in March of 2012 and on those two releases alone the band have built a loyal fanbase that continues to grow. After becoming one of the most buzzed about bands at the 2012 SXSW and CMJ Music Festivals, Daughter’s success was punctuated by a hauntingly beautiful and delicate performance on The Late Show with David Letterman, before heading out on their first sold-out North American tour last fall. Currently preparing to begin a sold-out tour in the UK, Daughter will be announcing North American tour dates soon.

  If You Leave Tracklisting: 1. Winter 2. Smother 3. Youth 4. Still 5. Lifeforms 6. Tomorrow 7. Human 8. Touch 9. Amsterdam 10. Shallows