Open Nav

Daughter Release Music From Before The Storm Today

 For immediate release

Daughter Release Music From Before The Storm Today


The Original Musical Score for the Square Enix Video Game, Life Is Strange: Before The Storm

 “… an urgent arrangement that not only channels the tone of the video game but also sees the usually folk rock-infused Daughter folding in textures of electronic-based music.” – Consequence of Sound

“Daughter get set to release what I think is its best album yet…” - Robin Hilton, NPR All Songs Considered


01 September 2017 (Toronto, ON) – Today award-winning London trio Daughter releases Music from Before the Storm via Glassnote Records/4AD/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. The musical score for Square Enix’s highly anticipated new game, Life is Strange: Before The Storm, was created in London earlier this year and is Daughter's first experience working on an original soundtrack.

Before The Storm is the prequel to Life Is Strange, the hugely successful BAFTA award-winning narrative-driven game released in 2015. It was a boundary-breaking video game, with principal characters drawn from real life facing everyday issues and touching upon difficult situations such as bullying, suicide, teen pregnancy as well as tackling the complexities of love and friendship. The original game was celebrated for the strength of its music, and Daughter’s involvement in the next installment is a brilliant continuation in the franchise’s development.

Led by the first single, “Burn It Down”, earlier this month, Daughter’s announcement of the project brought together their devoted following with a whole new set of gaming community fans excited to learn of the unique collaboration. Shortly after the track was released, the band kept the momentum going with a behind the scenes video feature that explained the scoring process. Premiered by Billboard and featured by Rolling Stone, the clip examines their immediate connection to the game’s lead characters and how the music was created.

Daughter will be back on the road this fall, opening for The National on their North American tour in October, followed by a South American headlining tour in November.



Website | Facebook Twitter | Instagram


Daughter – Music From Before The Storm 

  1. Glass
  2. Burn It Down
  3. Flaws
  4. Hope
  5. The Right Way Arounddaughter facebook
  6. Witches
  7. Departure
  8. All I Wanted
  9. I Can’t Live Here Anymore
  10. Dreams Of William
  11. Improve
  12. Voices
  13. A Hole In The Earth