Open Nav

Deluxe Edition of The Acclaimed Norah Jones Album, Day Breaks, to be Released October 27

For immediate release

Deluxe Edition of The Acclaimed Norah Jones Album, Day Breaks, to be Released October 27



Limited Edition 2-LP 180g Silver Foil-Cover Vinyl and 2-CD Set Available for Pre-Order Today


12 September 2017 (Toronto, ON) – A new Deluxe Edition of Norah Jones’s acclaimed album, Day Breaks, will be released on all digital retailers and streaming services on October 27 via Blue Note Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. A 2-CD set and the limited edition 2-LP 180g silver foil-cover vinyl are available today for pre-order on the Norah Jones Store.

The expanded track listing includes the addition of nine songs recorded live in New York City during Norah’s memorable album release shows at the Sheen Center’s Loreto Theater in October 2016. The live cuts include versions of songs from Day Breaks like “Flipside” and the Horace Silver ballad, “Peace”, as well as fan favourites like “Don’t Know Why” and “Sunrise” performed by Norah (voice, piano), Chris Thomas (bass), Brian Blade (drums), Pete Remm (Hammond B-3 organ), and background vocalists Tarriona ‘Tank’ Ball & Anjelika ‘Jelly’ Joseph of Tank and The Bangas (winners of NPR Music’s 2017 Tiny Desk Contest).

Day Breaks is a kindred spirit to Come Away With Me though it is unquestionably the work of a mature artist who has lived life and grown immensely in her craft. The album features jazz luminaries including saxophonist Wayne Shorter, organist Dr. Lonnie Smith, and drummer Brian Blade on a 12-song set that presents nine new originals alongside covers of songs by Horace Silver, Duke Ellington and Neil Young.

Norah Jones first emerged on the world stage with the February 2002 release of Come Away With Me, her self-described “moody little record” that introduced a singular new voice and grew into a global phenomenon, sweeping the 2003 Grammy Awards and signaling a paradigm shift away from the prevailing pop music of the time. Since then, Norah has sold 47 million albums worldwide and is a nine-time Grammy winner. She has released a series of critically acclaimed and commercially successful solo albums — Feels Like Home (2004), Not Too Late (2007), The Fall (2009), and Little Broken Hearts (2012) — as well as albums with her collective bands The Little Willies and Puss N Boots. The 2010 compilation …Featuring Norah Jones showcased her incredible versatility by collecting her collaborations with artists as diverse as Willie Nelson, Outkast, Herbie Hancock, and Foo Fighters. Little Broken Hearts, which was produced by Danger Mouse, was a fascinating step in the artistic evolution of one of the music world’s most consistently intriguing singer-songwriters.

Day Breaks is a remarkable album that finds her coming full circle as she returns to the piano and her jazz roots while also proving her to be this era’s quintessential American artist. Norah is the purveyor of an unmistakably unique sound that weaves together the threads of several bedrock styles of American music: country, folk, rock, soul, and jazz.


Follow Norah Jones: 

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


Norah Jones - Day Break (Deluxe Edition)


Disc One (original album)

  1. Burn
  2. Tragedy
  3. Flipside
  4. It's A Wonderful Time For Love
  5. And Then There Was You
  6. Don't Be Denied
  7. Day Breaks
  8. Peace
  9. Once I Had A Laugh
  10. Sleeping Wild
  11. Carry On
  12. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)

Disc Two (Live at The Sheen Center for Thought & Culture)

  1. Peace
  2. I've Got To See You Again
  3. Out On The Road
  4. Sunrise
  5. Burn
  6. It's A Wonderful Time For Love
  7. Flipside
  8. Don't Know Why
  9. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)