Open Nav


For immediate release



24 NOVEMBER 2017 (Toronto, ON) – elbow releases The Best Of, a handpicked compilation of their favourite recordings to date from their seven studio albums. The standard one-disc version of the new record is comprised of thirteen career spanning tracks alongside one bonus track, their version of The Beatles “Golden Slumbers”. The deluxe version features a second disc with more tracks chosen by the band from their twenty plus years of recording including their first two single releases, “Newborn” and “Any Day Now”. Both versions are available today via Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Purchase the album in standard here and deluxe here.

Highlights of the band’s incredible ongoing career include, the award-winning tracks, “One Day Like This” and “Grounds for Divorce”, the quadruple platinum album, The Seldom Seen Kid and two UK Number One albums; 2014’s The Take Off and Landing of Everything and this year’s Little Fictions.

Over the years, elbow has consistently attracted critical praise, including their achievement of being the first act in history to receive consecutive 9/10 album reviews from NME. This best of album is the perfect introduction to the amazing musical legacy to date of one of the UK’s most beloved and successful acts.

Throughout their career, elbow has received a number of accolades, including the Mercury Music Prize for The Seldom Seen Kid in 2008 and the BRITS ‘Best British Group’ in 2009, to name a few. The band has also been lauded for one of the landmark Pyramid Stage performances at Glastonbury Festival, collaborated with the BBC Concert Orchestra and Manchester’s Hallé Orchestra, and broken the BBC red button record twice for that BBC Concert Orchestra show and their home town Manchester Cathedral show. In 2012 elbow were commissioned to write “First Steps”, which soundtracked the BBC'S London Olympics TV coverage. They went on to perform the track during the closing ceremony, in the Olympic Stadium to a global television audience of 750 million people.  This year’s secret appearance at Glastonbury’s Park Stage drew a record crowd on site and was the most watched set from the festival on BBC4.


Website | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram

The Best Of Tracklisting:

Disc One (Standard Version)

  1. Grounds for Divorce
  2. Magnificent (She Says)
  3. Lippy Kids
  4. One Day Like This
  5. The Bones of You
  6. My Sad Captains
  7. Leaders of the Free World
  8. Mirrorball
  9. Fugitive Motel
  10. New York Morning
  11. Great Expectations
  12. The Birds
  13. Scattered Black and Whites
  14. Golden Slumbers

Disc Two (Deluxe Version Only)

  1. Any Day Now
  2. Fly Boy Blue / Lunette
  3. Weather to Fly
  4. Station Approach
  5. Switching Off
  6. Little Fictions
  7. This Blue World
  8. Kindling (Fickle Flame) featuring John Grant
  9. Newborn
  10. The Night Will Always Win
  11. Starlings
  12. Puncture Repair
  13. The Loneliness of a Tower Crane Driver
  14. Dear Friends