Open Nav

May 19 Release for Engelbert Humperdinck: 50



20 APRIL 2017 (Toronto, ON) - Engelbert Humperdinck celebrates 50 years since his iconic song Release Me with a new album of his greatest hits, including two brand new tracks. The 2CD collection will be released via Decca Records/Universal Music Canada, the country's leading music company, on May 19, and also includes a remix of Release Me – one of the best-selling singles of all time.

In a career spanning over five decades, Engelbert has sold in excess of 140 million records worldwide – more than Adele, Justin Bieber and Lady Gaga. He has 64 gold albums, 23 platinum albums, multiple Grammy nominations, a Golden Globe for Entertainer of the Year, a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame and he represented the UK in the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest. He is still performing live, with a 50th anniversary world tour this year. The new album features 35 of Engelbert’s best-loved songs plus two brand new recordings, I Followed My Heart and I Don’t Want To Call It Goodbye – these tracks possess the same elegance and charismatic charm as his previous hits, brought to life by his distinctive silky vocals. With truly heartfelt and poignant lyrics, both new songs have been personally dedicated to his wife of 50 years, Patricia. Engelbert comments: “It is wonderful to still be at Decca after all these years! It’s remarkable to think that it’s been 50 years since ‘Release Me’, yet I still feel a thrill when I step in front of the microphone to sing and love seeing the great joy it brings my fans. I’m delighted to have recorded two new songs for the album, which I’m dedicating to my beloved wife Patricia, whose strength and courage is truly extraordinary.” Engelbert’s hit song Release Me held the No.1 spot in the UK chart for six weeks in 1967, preventing The Beatles single Penny Lane from reaching the top (and breaking their four-year run of chart toppers). Release Me was the highest-selling single in 1967, spending a record-breaking 56 weeks in the charts and hitting the No.1 spot in 11 countries. The youngest of 10 children, Engelbert was extraordinarily reserved and timid growing up. Originally from Leicester, UK, he lived in India until he was 10 before moving back to his home city. His childhood was dominated by the love of his parents and his brothers and sisters. He knew he could sing harmonies, but the power of his own voice came as a surprise to him and other people: “It’s just so loud, but I discovered I can be tender with it at the same time,” said Engelbert. Born Arnold George Dorsey, he started studying music and playing the saxophone at the age of 11. At 17, he found himself playing at a pub that sponsored singing contests. Becoming popular on the UK music circuit, he released a single called Crazybells/ Mister Music Man on Decca Records in 1959. However after contracting tuberculosis, which silenced him for six months and nearly ended his rising music career, he made a comeback under a new stage name. Thus was born the soon-to-be legend, Engelbert Humperdinck. Never intending his monumental rise to fame, Engelbert exploded onto the music scene in the sixties. The then shy, handsome young man captured the hearts of the public instantly, quickly becoming an international icon. He became great friends with Elvis Presley and the two legends often performed each other’s songs. Engelbert’s music has transcended time and his voice still continues to reach out to people. The new album celebrates the life and works of an icon with a collection of his greatest hits, along with brand new tracks to be treasured for years to come. To coincide with the new album, Engelbert will be releasing a new 11-disc box set entitled The Complete Decca Studio Albums on May 19. Each of the 11 albums featured in this box set will be released digitally for the first time ever. Engelbert Humperdinck: 50 CD1
  1. Release Me
  2. There Goes My Everything
  3. The Last Waltz
  4. Am I That Easy To Forget
  5. Quando Quando Quando
  6. Spanish Eyes
  7. Les Bicyclettes De Belsize
  8. Can't Take My Eyes Off You
  9. My World (Il Mondo)
  10. There's A Kind Of Hush (All Over The World)
  11. Everybody Knows (We're Through)
  12. My Cherie Amour
  13. Sweetheart
  14. Love Letters
  15. Stand By Me
  16. Let There Be Love
  17. Have I Told You Lately
  18. If
  19. I Don’t Want To Call It Goodbye *
  1. Just The Two Of Us
  2. A Man Without Love
  3. The Way It Used To Be
  4. Winter World Of Love
  5. Ten Guitars
  6. My Marie
  7. Strangers In The Night
  8. Another Time, Another Place
  9. Funny Familiar Forgotten Feelings
  10. Dance The Night Away
  11. A Place In The Sun
  12. Stardust
  13. It Had To Be You
  14. Too Beautiful To Last
  15. This Guy's In Love With You
  16. I'm A Better Man (For Having Loved You)
  17. She
  18. What A Wonderful World
  19. I Followed My Heart *
  20. Release Me - DBU Disco Remix *
* indicates a new track