Open Nav

EODM (Eagles Of Death Metal) Announces Zipper Down for October 02

EODM logo


Zipper Down Cover

International Tour Dates & VICE Film Announced

17 JUNE 2015 (Toronto, ON) –Jesse Hughes and Joshua Homme, co-founders of American rock band EODM (Eagles Of Death Metal), are sharing some sexy news today, including release plans for their fourth album, ZIPPER DOWN, EODM’s first new studio release since 2008. ZIPPER DOWN will be released on October 02 by T-Boy/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Beginning today, the 11-track album is available for preorder on CD, digital, vinyl LP and cassette. iTunes’ digital album preorder unlocks an instant download of its hot lead single, Complexity.   Currently on tour in Europe, the dynamic duo is also revealing EODM’s extensive tour plans for North America and Europe, and announcing an upcoming VICE-produced documentary film about the charismatic Hughes (AKA “Boots Electric”). For the ZIPPER DOWN sessions at Pink Duck Studios in Burbank, California, Hughes and Homme co-wrote all of the album’s songs (with the exception of their cover of Duran Duran’s Save A Prayer), and performed all of the instruments and vocals themselves. The album is produced by Homme. “The new album, Zipper Down, really represents to me an attitude and philosophy of life,” says Hughes. “One should not zipper up, they should zipper down and let it all hang out.” Homme (AKA “Baby Duck”) says, "In an independent study, four out of three doctors say ZIPPER DOWN is an eargasm trapped inside a crazerbeam. And I believe them." About the album’s lead single, Homme says, “‘Complexity’ is the musical equivalent of holding a lucky rabbit’s foot with the unlucky rabbit still attached." “‘Complexity’ is sort of our way of saying, ‘Keep it simple, stupid,’” adds Hughes. Currently on tour in Europe, EODM has announced a trek across North America in August, September and October (confirmed Canadian dates below), before they head back to Europe for headlining shows in November and December, including the UK, Ireland, France, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Poland, Hungary, Italy and Spain. Visit the band’s site for all latest confirmed tour dates and other news. Produced by VICE Media and directed by Alex Hoffman, the forthcoming feature documentary The Redemption of the Devil is an intimate and at times brutally honest portrayal of a year in the life of Jesse Hughes.

EODM: ZIPPER DOWN [CD, digital, vinyl LP, cassette]
  1. Complexity
  2. Silverlake (K.S.O.F.M.)
  3. Got A Woman
  4. I Love You All The Time
  5. Oh Girl
  6. Got The Power
  7. Skin Tight Boogie
  8. Got A Woman (slight return)
  9. The Deuce
  10. Save A Prayer
  11. The Reverend
EODM: Confirmed 2015 Tour Dates Sep 03 - Commodore Ballroom - Vancouver, BC Sep 05 - X Fest - Calgary, AB Sep 06 - Sonic Boom - Edmonton, AB Sep 08 - Pyramid Cabaret - Winnipeg, MB Sep 19 - Riot Fest - Toronto, ON EODM was formed in 1998 in Palm Desert, California by best friends Jesse Hughes and Joshua Homme. Despite their band name, EODM (Eagles Of Death Metal) is not a death metal band. The story goes that a friend was introducing Joshua Homme to the death metal genre, and Homme wondered what a cross between the Eagles and a death metal band would sound like. With that, EODM was born. The band released Peace Love Death Metal in 2004, followed by Death By Sexy in 2006, and Heart On in 2008.