Open Nav




13 APRIL 2018 (Toronto, ON) – The brand-new Eric Clapton documentary, “Eric Clapton: Life In 12 Bars” is set to arrive on June 8, the same day as the complementary original soundtrack via Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Available in 2CD and digital formats, with a 4LP set following shortly afterwards on July 20, the soundtrack comprises 32 tracks spanning Clapton’s long and illustrious career. The film, directed by Oscar-winner, Lili Fini Zanuck, takes an unflinching and deeply personal look into the life of the legendary 18-time Grammy Award winning guitarist and multi-million selling recording artist. The documentary will be aired on BBC Television later this year. Watch the official trailer here.


A few highlights on the original documentary soundtrack include tracks by The Yardbirds, John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers, Cream, Blind Faith, Derek and the Dominos, The Beatles, Aretha Franklin, Muddy Waters and Clapton’s solo work.  In addition, of the 32 featured there are five previously unreleased tracks: From the Cream era there is a version of “Spoonful”, an incredible 17-minute tour-de-force, recorded live at the LA Forum in October 1968 during the group’s final US, Goodbye tour. There are two from Derek and The Dominos – firstly a recording of “High”, originally recorded during the 1971 sessions at Olympic Studios for their unreleased second album. This track was later revisited and re-recorded for Eric Clapton’s 1975 album, There’s One In Every Crowd. Secondly, the track “Little Wing”, a tribute to Jimi Hendrix, recorded live during the Domino’s late set at The Fillmore East on October 24, 1970.


Finally, there are two previously unreleased Clapton tracks from 1974; the first ever release of the entire full length recording of the international hit version of Bob Marley’s “I Shot The Sheriff”, recorded during the sessions for 461 Ocean Boulevard and a live performance of “Little Queenie”, the Chuck Berry rock ‘n’ roll classic, recoded at Long Beach Arena, California in July 1974 during Clapton’s comeback tour to promote 461 Ocean Boulevard.


Last but not least, there are two alternative mixes made for Clapton’s 1970 debut album. Separate mixes were made for the album, by Delaney Bramlett and Tom Dowd (in LA) and also by Clapton himself (in London). Featured in this collection are Clapton’s rare mixes of album highlights, After Midnight and Let It Rain.


Follow Eric Clapton


Eric Clapton: Life In 12 Bars Documentary (Original Soundtrack) – Tracklisting:

DISC ONE                                                            

  1. Backwater Blues (The Big Bill Broonzy Story, 1957) - Big Bill Broonzy
  2. My Life Is Ruined (Chess single, 1953) - Muddy Waters
  3. I Got Mojo Working (Live At Newport Jazz Festival, 1960) - Muddy Waters
  4. I Wish You Would (studio version) - The Yardbirds
  5. For Your Love (For Your Love, 1965) - The Yardbirds
  6. Steppin’ Out (John Mayall Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton, 1966) - John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers
  7. All Your Love (John Mayall Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton, 1966) - John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers
  8. I Feel Free (Fresh Cream, 1966) - Cream
  9. Strange Brew (Disraeli Gears, 1967) - Cream
  10. Sunshine of Your Love (studio version) - Cream
  11. Good to Me As I Am To You (Lady Soul / Recorded Dec 16-17, 1967) - Aretha Franklin                       
  12. Crossroads live (Wheels Of Fire / Recorded March 10, 1968 @ Winterland, San Francisco, CA16) - Cream
  13. While My Guitar Gently Weeps (The Beatles / Recorded Sept 5–6, 1968) - The Beatles
  14. Badge (Goodbye / Recorded Oct 1968 @ IBC Studios, London) - Cream    
  15. White Room live (Live Cream II / Recorded Oct 4, 1968 @ Oakland Coliseum Arena) - Cream
  16. Spoonful (live from Goodbye tour – LA Forum October 19, 1968)* - Cream
  17. Presence Of The Lord (studio version) - Blind Faith

DISC TWO                                                          

  1. Comin' Home (Live at Fairfield Halls) - Delaney & Bonnie & Friends featuring Eric Clapton
  2. After Midnight (alternate mix from Eric Clapton,1970) - Eric Clapton
  3. Let It Rain (alternate mix from Eric Clapton, 1970) - Eric Clapton
  4. High (Olympic Studios, April 1971 / Derek and The Dominos album)* - Derek and The Dominos
  5. My Sweet Lord (All Things Must Pass, 1970) - George Harrison
  6. Thorn Tree In The Garden (Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs, 1970) - Derek and The Dominos
  7. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs, 1970) - Derek and The Dominos
  8. Bell Bottom Blues (Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs, 1970) - Derek and The Dominos
  9. Layla (Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs, 1970) - Derek and The Dominos
  10. Little Wing (Live At The Fillmore, 1970) - Derek and The Dominos
  11. Got To Get Better In A Little While (studio version) - Derek and The Dominos
  12. I Shot The Sheriff (full length version from 461 Ocean Blvd, 1970)* - Eric Clapton
  13. Little Queenie live (Long Beach Arena, Long Beach, California, July 19-20, 1974) - Eric Clapton
  14. Mainline Florida (461 Ocean Boulevard, 1974) - Eric Clapton
  15. Tears In Heaven (studio version) - Eric Clapton

*previously unreleased