Open Nav



09 MARCH 2021 (TORONTO,ON) - This morning, neo-classical composer group Blitz//Berlin received their second career Juno Nomination for Instrumental Album of the Year for their album Movements III (released in November 2019 via Wax Records/Universal Music Canada, the country's leading music company.) Having been recognized in 2017 for their album Movements I, today’s stunning achievement has solidified their position as an artistic force to be reckoned with in the Canadian music industry.  


Listen to the album Movements III HERE


Recorded in Toronto and Los Angeles, the album consists of 12 original songs, showcasing the band’s sonic diversity. The album’s focus track “Nowhere” explores desolate, yet whimsical melodies, while “All The Floors Are Darkness”, an original track used in the trailer for blockbuster film The Girl In The Spider’s Web, features a haunting vocal by Leonard Cohen that evokes feelings of dystopian chaos. Additionally, Movements III features stunning instrumental scores, including “Ascension,” written as part of the original score for the film Oracle, which premiered at TIFF 2019 and won the Grand Prix at Montreal’s Festival du Nouveau Cinema.


Of today’s nomination, Blitz//Berlin member Martin Macphail comments, “ Thank you to the Juno Awards for the nomination! It’s unreal to see our names next to the incredible talent in this category. Now to start an internet beef with David Foster…”



Blitz//Berlin is a group of experimental Canadian film composers. In the past 2 years, they have seen a meteoric rise in the world of international film and TV music, earning numerous accolades, including a JUNO Award nomination for “Instrumental Album of the Year”,  the Clio Award win for “Best Use of Music” for their work on the trailer for The Girl On A Train starring Emily Blunt, and a Golden Trailer Award for “Best Thriller” for their work on the trailer for Birdbox starring Sandra Bullock.


Other noteworthy trailers that the group has scored include: Top Gun: MaverickDeath on the Nile, and Fifty Shades of Grey.


In addition to movie trailers, Blitz//Berlin have composed music for several award-winning feature films, including The Void, Still/Born and two SXSW 2020 films: WitchHunt and PG: Psycho Goreman. They also composed the music for the Blade Runner prequel “Nexus Dawn”, starring Jared Leto, as well as the short film Oracle, directed by Aaron Poole, which premiered at TIFF 2019.


Their most recent album, the stunning Movements III, includes “All the Floors Are Darkness,” which features Leonard Cohen and appears in the trailer for The Girl In the Spider’s Web. They have also produced tracks for both established and emerging artists, including: Dizzee Rascal, Allan Rayman, Bad Child & Amir Obe.


Follow Blitz//Berlin:

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube




Wax Records is an independent, full-service music company. Our focus is on finding, developing and promoting career artists with remarkable talent. Founded in 2009, Wax began as a small operation built on 20 years of combined music industry experience. Originally formed in 2006 as the Canadian branch of Windup Records, and representing such top tier acts as Evanescence, Seether, and Finger 11, the new team built their reputations together with high profile marketing strategies and remarkable Canadian success. Having recognized the talent present in Wax Records, Universal Music Canada soon decided to lend their support with full international distribution. Wax Records is home to the following artists: ASHS, Alyssa Reid, Virginia to Vegas, and Blitz//Berlin.