Open Nav





YouthPinkBorder_08.07.16_V3 DAVE GRADE lores[1]


26 JULY 2016 (Toronto, ON) - Following the success of their first single, ‘Life Itself’, today Glass Animals announce their hypnotic new single ‘Youth’. The track is taken from their hotly anticipated new album, How To Be A Human Being released via Caroline International / Wolf Tone / Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company, on August 26 and available for preorder now. How To Be a Human Being is a bold departure lyrically and sonically from the band's debut ZABA. Having both written and produced the album, lead singer Dave Bayley pushed the project towards something heavier, grittier and rawer in sound and subject matter. Many of Dave’s lyrical ideas came from live recordings of people saved on his phone, as though he’d been operating as some sort of roaming journalist. “I try to sneakily record people, and I have hours and hours of these amazing rants from taxi drivers, people we met outside of shows, people at parties. People tell you some amazing things when they don’t think they’re ever gonna see you again.” The voice notes sparked ideas for characters that Dave developed, writing an album like a TV screenwriter might approach a script. I’d obsess over what they ate, where they lived, what their furniture looked like, what they wore,” he says. ’Youth’ and the accompanying visuals are typical of this. Telling one of stories that resonated the most with lead singer Dave’, he recalls: “Someone told me a story about her son once that was one of the saddest things I’ve ever heard. What she said was completely heartbreaking, but she told it with such optimism and such a sense of calm. She was on the verge of crying, but she was also smiling and something in her face said that she had found a way to be happy again. This song is trying to get at that sentiment.” Unveiled in mid-May as Annie Mac’s Hottest Record, ‘Life Itself’ has already elevated the band’s sonorous buzz to a whole new level. This has included A-list at BBC Radio 1, A-list at 6 music and seen the band gather in excess of 2 million monthly Spotify subscribers. Dave makes a point of not listening to his contemporaries when making music, preferring to look inwards to the world Glass Animals have built. In crafting this record, his thoughts returned to one factor he couldn’t even dream of on Zaba - the huge live audiences they’d been drawing. “You sense what the crowds react to: big drums, bass, high tempo.” Glass Animals’ debut Zaba has so far sold nearly half a million copies worldwide and amassed a staggering 200 million Spotify streams, obliterating all expectations simply by word of mouth. Their anomalous rise has gained the Oxford four-piece a legion of fans all over the world, including festival appearances at the likes of Coachella, Bonnaroo, Lollapalooza and WayHome. Album pre-order:
Artist Store -
iTunes – Listen to Youth:
Video YouTube link:
iTunes Download:
Spotify = ‘How To Be A Human Being’ tracklisting:
  1. Life Itself
  2. Youth
  3. Season 2 Episode 3
  4. Pork Soda
  5. Mama’s Gun
  6. Cane Shuga
  7. Premade Sandwiches
  8. The Other Side Of Paradise
  9. Take A Slice
  10. Poplar St
  11. Agnes

Twitter  // Facebook // Website