Open Nav

The Glorious Sons Announce October 13 Release Date for Young Beauties and Fools

The Glorious Sons - Young Beauties And Fools (300dpi Cover)

Lead Single, “Everything Is Alright”, Breaks into Top 10 at Alternative Radio

 Canadian Headlining Tour Kicks Off October 19

08 September 2017 (Toronto, ON) – Today, Juno-nominated alternative rock band, The Glorious Sons, announce their highly-anticipated sophomore album Young Beauties and Fools to be released on October 13 through Black Box/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Fans can pre-order the album today and receive exclusive pre-order bundles including signed CDs, LPs and exclusive merchandise. In support of the release, the band are heading out on their cross-country headlining tour October 19 which includes two sold out Toronto dates. To buy tickets, and for a full list of dates, visit  Pre-order the album HERE.

To celebrate the album announcement, the band has shared a new track “Hide My Love” today which can be streamed everywhere, or instantly downloaded alongside the first single, “Everything Is Alright”, as part of the album preorder.

The album is about the adventures (and frequent misadventures) of lead singer-songwriter Brett Emmons in the truest way. It's also an album where The Glorious Sons — rounded out by brother Jay Emmons (guitar), Chris Koster (guitar), Adam Paquette (drums) and Chris Huot (bass) — capture all the listlessness and confusion of young adulthood over the course of 10 stunning tracks. "It's basically the story of a 24-year-old kid,” says Brett.  “They’re simple songs about alcoholism and the mostly autobiographical story of my life. The whole thing is derived from the thoughts, actions and feelings of a kid who doesn't really know himself and the consequences of those actions."

The album’s first single, “Everything Is Alright”, earned the #1 Most Added track on both Alternative Radio and Rock Big Picture Radio as well as the #1 Most Added track at Canadian Active Rock Radio for three consecutive weeks since its release on July 21.  The single is currently in the Top 10 at Alternative radio, a new achievement for the band. It has also earned placement in several top Apple Music and Spotify playlists including “Best of the Week”, “New Music Now”, “Viral Hits Canada”, “New Noise”, “The A-List: Rock”, and many more. 

Whether it’s the rock 'n' roll bender “My Poor Heart”, the not-so-classic boy-meets-girl story of “Josie”, or the deeply embarrassing punch-up at a wedding tale “Everything Is Alright”, Brett’s songwriting deftly explores the imperfect humanity of both himself and the many characters he introduces over the course of the album.

It wasn’t easy to capture that realness. The band wanted to range further, to grow and evolve from the successes of their debut album The Union but eighteen months of recording did not yield the results they were looking for. It was not until they headed to Los Angeles to work with production team Fast Friends (Frederik Thaae, Ryan Spraker, Tom Peyton) and started exploring a collection of old voice memos on Brett’s phone that they had their eureka moment. The subsequent creative outburst resulted in an album written in 12 days and recorded in 14.

“It was our first time working with these guys in the studio and we were still kinda feeling each other out,” says Brett. “There were times when it almost felt like a blind date. And we had been in the studio with a couple of other producers prior to that and went home empty handed. So after a few lukewarm conversations about ideas, I said to them, ‘Boys, can I show you something?’ I took out my iPhone and played ‘Josie’ and they just went fucking nuts. They wanted us to challenge ourselves as players and songwriters and pushed me to write from personal experience. After that, the hardest part of recording was choosing which songs to keep for the album. I’m forever grateful to them for teaching me to trust myself as a writer and help find that voice.”

"You don't know what you’re going to get night to night from us," says Jay. "It's something you have to see – we try to keep it interesting and powerful.”

"It's also an inch from either side of falling off the tracks every single night," adds Brett.

Which is perfectly fitting for a band living young and foolishly.

The Glorious Sons are currently on a North American tour including select dates with Greta Van Fleet, playing a mix of favourites from the last record, The Union, and previewing new tracks from Young Beauties and Fools. 

With over 100,000 singles sold in Canada and over 5.8 million streams, The Glorious Sons are poised for an explosive year as their dedicated fans discover the dynamic songwriting and uniquely crafted sound of Young Beauties and Fools.


Follow The Glorious Sons
Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Canadian Fall Headlining Tour Dates

  • Oct 19 - Toronto, ON at The Phoenix SOLD OUT
  • Oct 20 - Toronto, ON at The Phoenix SOLD OUT
  • Oct 26 - Kamloops, BC at CJ’s Nightclub
  • Oct 27 - Vancouver, BC at Vogue Theatre
  • Oct 28 - Kelowna, BC at Level Nightclub
  • Oct 30 - Grande Prairie, AB at Better Than Fred’s
  • Nov 1 - Red Deer, AB at Red Deer Memorial Centre
  • Nov 2 - Edmonton, AB at Starlite Room
  • Nov 3 - Edmonton, AB at Starlite Room
  • Nov 4 - Calgary, AB at The Palace Theatre
  • Nov 7 - Medicine Hat, AB at Esplanade Arts & Heritage Centre
  • Nov 9 - Saskatoon, SK at Louis’ Pub
  • Nov 10 - Regina, SK at Turvey Centre
  • Nov 11 - Winnipeg, MB at The Garrick

About Black Box:
Black Box is a record label, artist management and music publishing company based in Toronto, Canada. Their eclectic roster includes the likes of The Glorious Sons, SonReal, Classified, Northcote, The OBGMs, Clairmont The Second, production duo Blaq Tuxedo, songwriter Lisa Scinta and more.