Open Nav

Hey Violet Debut Album From The Outside Set To Release June 16

For immediate release


Album Graphic. Hey Violet - From The Outside


25 April 2017 (Toronto, ON) — Alt-pop band Hey Violet will release their debut album titled From The Outside on June 16 on Hi or Hey Records/Capitol/Caroline/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company.  The album is now available for pre-order from all retailers.  Those who pre-order will receive instant downloads of the tracks Brand New Moves”, “Fuqboi”, “Guys My Age,” and new single, “Break My Heart”.  The band co-wrote all songs on the album, which was produced by Julian Bunetta.  Full track list is below. “We have been writing and performing music together for over two years now and this album represents us finding our true sound as a band,” says frontwoman Rena Lovelis.  The title, From The Outside, is a symbol of how we have grown and changed as people and as a band, now we’re ready for everyone to hear it.” Earlier this month, Hey Violet released the video for “Break My Heart”The song was included on Spotify’s New Music Friday Playlist and has racked up over five million streams.  Idolator says “Break My Heart” is a “monstrous electro-anthem” and declares the band is “destined to have a massive year.” Alternative Press calls the track “irresistible,” while Nylon raves, “Hey Violet knows how to write a good pop hook and ‘Break My Heart’ is a testament to that. This song has spunk.”  “Break My Heart” is the follow-up to Hey Violet’s smash single “Guys My Age,” which has more than 40 million combined streams, while the video has over 12 million views. “Guys My Age” was named one of the Best Songs of 2016 by The New York Times, who called it “teen-pop’s revenge: an urgent dark song about sexual rebellion” and one of the 20 Best Songs of 2016 by V Magazine. Hey Violet was also nominated for a 2017 iHeart Radio award for Best Underground Alternative Band and been dubbed an Artist Primed For A Breakout in 2017 by Billboard and a 2017 Artist To Watch by The Guardian, PopCrush, and more. The band recently wrapped up a sold out North American headline tour and was also featured on the March cover of Alternative Press.  Watch their performance of “Guys My Age” on Late Night With Seth Meyers HERE.  The Los Angeles Times compared their move “from grimy punk to shiny pop” to the Go-Go’s, while Galore declared front woman Rena Lovelis, “emits an unheard of level of rock-stardom for such a small girl without even singing a single note. But when she does sing, it’s as if Courtney Love, Gwen Stefani, and Hayley Williams crashed into each other and made a whole new generation of rock star.” Hey Violet is Rena Lovelis, her sister Nia Lovelis (drums), Miranda Miller (keys, vocals), Casey Moreta (lead guitar) and Iain Shipp (bass).   FROM THE OUTSIDE Track List
  1. Break My Heart
  2. Brand New Moves
  3. Guys My Age
  4. Hoodie
  5. My Consequence
  6. D.D.
  7. All We Ever Wanted
  8. Fuqboi
  9. Unholy
  10. Where Have You Been (All My Night)
  11. Like Lovers Do
  12. This Is Me Breaking Up With You

Follow Hey Violet:

Website / Facebook / Instagram / Twitter