Open Nav


Listen To “sunrise mtn” HERE


OFFAIR Records Mission Is To Create Deeper Experiences Through Music, Learn More About The New Label HERE


Announcing Dolby Atmos & OFFAIR Listening Experience In Hollywood On May 4


Photo Credit: Tucker Leary


5 APRIL 2023 (TORONTO, ON) - Today, renowned folk artist Jenny Owen Youngs is announcing a transportive, ambient album from the forest floor via OFFAIR Records, out May 5th, intended to be listened to while hiking amongst woodland greenery, or imagining oneself doing so. 


To celebrate the announcement, Youngs is releasing “sunrise mtn,” an effervescent, morning dew-tinged track water-colored with acoustic strums. 


The 12-track album cycles through a 24-hour period, beginning at 7am. Each piece is designed to reflect aspects of the time it's representing, from sunrise to dusk, moonset to blue hour. The earthy, hypnotic project features collaborators Hrishikesh Hirway (host of Song Exploder), John Mark Nelson (Taylor Swift, Suki Waterhouse, Devon Cole's 'W.I.T.C.H.'), and Tancred. 


Youngs says of “sunrise mtn,” “This song is named for a peak in the Kittatinny Mountains in north Jersey, that lies along the Appalachian Trail in Stokes State Forest. Standing at the top, you can see New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and New York spread out below; it’s a popular place to watch the sun come up. This piece is an invitation to look up and to look out, towards the clean slate of another tomorrow coming up over the horizon line. It was a pleasure to work with John Mark Nelson on this piece (and across the entire album) for many reasons, especially because he’s kind of like a human sunrise, and finds a way to infuse light into every song he touches.” 


Dolby and OFFAIR are also hosting a Dolby Atmos listening experience in Hollywood on May 4th at 7pm, which will feature a conversation between the artists (Jenny Owen Youngs, John Mark Nelson, Hrishikesh Hirway). Dolby Atmos is an immersive sound experience transforming how music is created and enjoyed by drawing listeners inside the music to reveal details with unparalleled clarity and depth. From the forest floor will also be released in Dolby Atmos for fans to enjoy streaming where available. RSVP is first come, first served here.


Watch transcendent “sunrise mtn” visualizer here 


Jenny Owen Youngs is originally from New Jersey and has since made her way out to Los Angeles and up to Kittery, Maine. She has released numerous albums and EPs, including last year’s It’s Dangerous to Go Alone, and has toured worldwide with the likes of Regina Spektor, Frank Turner and Aimee Mann, among others. She recently co-wrote the chart topping, five-time platinum single “High Hopes” by Panic! At The Disco, as well as co-writing songs with Ingrid Michaelson, Pitbull, Briston Maroney, Shungudzo and others. Her solo music has been featured on TV shows such as “Weeds,” “Grey’s Anatomy,” “Nurse Jackie” and “Bojack Horseman” and has seen praise from The AV Club, The New York Times, Stereogum and NPR. Last year, Jenny wrapped up 6 years as co-host of popular podcast, Buffering The Vampire Slayer and just launched a new podcast called The eX-Files. 


OFFAIR Records is a joint venture between Universal Music Canada (UMC) and Versus Creative globally distributed by UMC and Virgin Music Label + Artist Services. With a community of established artists exploring beyond their familiar sonic territories, OFFAIR’s series of releases will bring instrumental and experimental soundtracks to listener-specific environments, mental spaces and shared universal moments. The mission of OFFAIR co-founders Rishi Shah and Nate Auerbach is to create deeper experiences through music. OFFAIR is building a brand, community, and distribution system together with their partners at UMC and Virgin Music to drive intentional listening, supported by special events, partnerships and more.


“sunrise mtn” Single Cover




  1. sunrise mtn (feat. John Mark Nelson)
  2. dove island (feat. John Mark Nelson)
  3. skylands (feat. John Mark Nelson)
  4. tannery falls (feat. John Mark Nelson)
  5. ambrosia (feat. John Mark Nelson & Hrishikesh Hirway)
  6. hemlock shade (feat. John Mark Nelson)
  7. dusk (feat. John Mark Nelson & Tancred)
  8. night-blooming (feat. John Mark Nelson)
  9. forager in the fern grove (feat. John Mark Nelson & Tancred)
  10. moon moth (feat. John Mark Nelson & Tancred)
  11. echolocation (feat. John Mark Nelson)
  12. blue hour (feat. John Mark Nelson)



Instagram | Twitter | Facebook 



 Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | TikTok