Open Nav

Lord Huron Release New Album, Vide Noir, and Drop Official Music Video for “Wait by the River”


“‘Wait by the River’ is more a mood than a song, a meandering moment that thrums with thoughtful production. The dreamy lo-fi rock tune feels like a reverie: a soundtrack to nostalgia and regret, given a sweet musical touch that belies its darkness, inspired by solo wanderings around nighttime L.A... Sometimes, just that simple message is worth remembering.” – TIME



20 April 2018 (Toronto, ON) - Vide Noir, the highly anticipated new album from Lord Huron is out now via Whispering Pines/Republic Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. The new music continues to receive widespread critical praise with NPR Music calling the album “Cinematic” and SPIN describing it as “An eery, unresolved tale of a crystal ball vision that amplifies the band’s characteristic thematic darkness into distorted garage rock.” Listen to Vide Noir HERE.


Also out today, is the band’s music video for their lead single, “Wait by the River”. “[‘Wait by the River’ is] a gorgeous song, one with the majesty of a 1950s doo-wop ballad,” wrote the Los Angeles Times. Watch/share the official video HERE.


Tune in on May 2 to see Lord Huron’s performance of “Wait by the River” on Late Night with Seth Meyers. You can also listen to singer/songwriter/producer Ben Schneider’s Guest DJ interview with NPR Music’s “All Songs Considered” HERE.


In support of Vide Noir, Lord Huron is set for a worldwide tour beginning this spring, which includes a stop at Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts in July. Tickets are on sale now at The band will also be performing at Osheaga in Montréal this August.


Vide Noir was written and recorded over the past two years at Lord Huron’s Los Angeles studio and informal clubhouse Whispering Pines and was mixed by Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips/MGMT). Schneider found inspiration wandering restlessly through his adopted home of L.A. at night: “My nighttime drives ranged all over the city—across the twinkling grid of the valley, into the creeping shadows of the foothills, through downtown’s neon canyons and way out to the darksome ocean. I started imagining Vide Noir as an epic odyssey through the city, across dimensions, and out into the cosmos. A journey along the spectrum of human experience. A search for meaning amidst the cold indifference of The Universe,” he says.



Follow Lord Huron:

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube




Lord Huron – Vide Noir

  1. Lost in Time and Space
  2. Never Ever
  3. Ancient Names (Part I)
  4. Ancient Names (Part II)
  5. Wait by the River
  6. Secret of Life
  7. Back from the Edge
  8. The Balancer’s Eye
  9. When the Night is Over
  10. Moonbeam
  11. Vide Noir
  12. Emerald Star



Canadian Tour Dates:

  • July 25—Toronto, ON @ Sony Centre
  • August 4—Montréal, QC @ Osheaga Festival