Open Nav

Lord Huron Release New Song, “When the Night is Over”


New Album, Vide Noir, Out April 20




30 March 2018 (Toronto, ON) - “When the Night is Over” is the latest release from Lord Huron’s highly anticipated upcoming album Vide Noir, out April 20 via Whispering Pines/Republic Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. Of “When the Night is Over”, singer/songwriter/producer Ben Schneider says, “We wanted this song to feel something like a Raymond Chandler story, a desperate search through a rain-soaked, neon-lit city. The groove section in the middle is one of my favorite passages on the album.” Listen to “When The Night Is Over” HERE and pre-order Vide Noir HERE. A true multi-media artist, Schneider has once again created an adorned world to inhabit within Vide Noir. Watch the trailer for the album HERE


In an effort to get fans outdoors and exploring their cities, the band has made the remaining eight songs off Vide Noir available to stream at eight different locations/coordinates across the country - two locations in Toronto, two in Vancouver and one location in Montréal, Edmonton, Calgary, and Ottawa. Begin your adventure by going to on your mobile device!


There will be further immersive experiences like this to come—crafted to expand upon the album’s narratives and themes. A true multi-media artist, Schneider has once again created an adorned world to inhabit within Vide Noir. Watch the trailer for the album HERE.


Earlier this month, the band performed their lead single, “Wait by the River”, on Jimmy Kimmel Live!. The single is already the subject of widespread critical praise with the Los Angeles Times proclaiming, “It’s a gorgeous song, one with the majesty of a 1950s doo-wop ballad,” and SPIN commenting that, “[‘Wait by the River’] offers a refined, waltz-like sound that can’t quite cover for the sins of a fatalistically obsessed narrator.”


In support of Vide Noir, Lord Huron is set for a worldwide tour beginning this spring, which includes a stop at Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts in July. Tickets are on sale now at The band will also be performing at Osheaga in Montréal this August.


Vide Noir was written and recorded over the past two years at Lord Huron’s Los Angeles studio and informal clubhouse Whispering Pines and was mixed by Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips/MGMT). Schneider found inspiration wandering restlessly through his adopted home of L.A. at night: “My nighttime drives ranged all over the city—across the twinkling grid of the valley, into the creeping shadows of the foothills, through downtown’s neon canyons and way out to the darksome ocean. I started imagining Vide Noir as an epic odyssey through the city, across dimensions, and out into the cosmos. A journey along the spectrum of human experience. A search for meaning amidst the cold indifference of The Universe,” he says.


Originally a musical and visual solo project by Michigan-native-turned-Angeleno Schneider, Lord Huron now includes members Mark Barry (percussion), Miguel Briseño (bass) and Tom Renaud (guitar). After a pair of independent EPs, Lord Huron released two full-length albums, Lonesome Dreams (2012) and Strange Trails (2015) on IAMSOUND Records followed by extensive touring and prestigious festival appearances both stateside and abroad. After appearing in the hit Netflix show 13 Reasons Why, the band’s song “The Night We Met” (from Strange Trails) went Platinum in Canada in October 2017.



Follow Lord Huron:

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube



Lord Huron – Vide Noir

  1. Lost in Time and Space
  2. Never Ever
  3. Ancient Names (Part I)
  4. Ancient Names (Part II)
  5. Wait by the River
  6. Secret of Life
  7. Back from the Edge
  8. The Balancer’s Eye
  9. When the Night is Over
  10. Moonbeam
  11. Vide Noir
  12. Emerald Star



Canadian Tour Dates:

July 25—Toronto, ON @ Sony Centre

August 4—Montréal, QC @ Osheaga Festival