Open Nav

Loreena McKennitt to Release “Troubadours on the Rhine” February 28

Loreena McKennitt to Release “Troubadours on the Rhine” February 28

‘Unplugged’ recording features the singer in a unique radio performance in a ‘house concert’ setting

(Toronto, ON. – Monday, 30 January 2012)

- When Canadian singer Loreena McKennitt released her current recording, The Wind that Shakes the Barley in 2010, she visited several countries to help promote the album. During the “promotional tour” she performed an hour-long concert in the studios of German radio station SWR1, accompanied only by Brian Hughes (guitars), Caroline Lavelle (cello) who have long been part of her tours and recordings. Over the course of the evening, McKennitt performed material from her new album, alongside traditional songs and fan favourites drawn from her catalogue, including The Lady of Shalott, Bonny Portmore and The Bonny Swans.

This performance is captured on Troubadours on the Rhine, a 9-song live recording will be released exactly as it was performed, without additional recording, overdubs or corrections.

Troubadours on the Rhine will be available on February 28 on Loreena’s own label, Quinlan Road, which is distributed in Canada exclusively by Universal Music, the country’s leading music company.

“This is quite different from my other recordings,” said McKennitt. “The experience was akin to an intimate house concert that I might have performed in my living room for a handful of friends.”

Troubadours on the Rhine track listing:

1. Bonny Portmore
2. Down By The Sally Gardens
3. The Wind That Shakes The Barley
4. Between The Shadows
5. The Lady Of Shalott
6. The Stolen Child
7. Penelope’s Song
8. The Bonny Swans
9. The Parting Glass

Meanwhile, McKennitt — who has sold more than 14 million records worldwide — is preparing for her 2012 “Celtic Footprints” World Tour in March, with an opening leg that includes 32 European dates in 11 countries, playing to more than 60,000 people.