Open Nav

Muddy Waters Set To Release Brand-New ‘Best Of’ Collection, Can’t Be Satisfied, Available March 16

For immediate release




30 JANUARY 2018 (Toronto, ON) – Chess is rightly synonymous with the blues. Southern Migrants like Muddy Waters, Howlin Wolf, Little Walter and others working for Chess, helped to shape electric blues/rhythm & blues and what would become rock & roll in the early 1950s with the unprecedented force and sheer unalloyed soul of their work. Muddy Waters was the first of these bona fide legends to record for the Chess brothers back in the late ‘40s. Announced today, is the upcoming release of two-disc collection, Can’t Be Satisfied, which spans his entire career with the label. The 40-track compilation is slated to release on March 16 via Chess/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company.

Can’t Be Satisfied is a richly satisfying journey through Muddy’s career. Featuring influential classics, powerful rarities and more, there are enough certified blues standards to keep the Rolling Stones in business for their next three albums. Also included, is a comprehensive booklet highlighted with authorative notes alongside unseen photos from the Chess vaults.

Proceedings commence in 1947 with the single, “Gypsy’ Woman”, before the compilation shifts through the next 3 decades. Moving through the ‘50s where Muddy, with Willie Dixon on bass, came to define Chicago Blues with classics such as “I’m Ready”, “Mannish Boy”, “Sugar Sweet”, “I Got My Mojo Working” and “You Shook Me”. We then enter the 1960s where Muddy and psychedelia came together on the much-debated Electric Mud album and also After The Rain which features “Screamin’ And Crying’’ on this here collection. The old blues and the blues influenced new rock movement came together on 1969’s Fathers And Sons double LP which was Muddy’s biggest selling album for Chess and saw him joined by the likes of Paul Butterfield, Mike Bloomfield and Donald Duck Dunn as wonderfully captured here with the inclusion of “Long Distance Cal”.

1971’s Live at Mr. Kelly’s (from which “Country Boy” and “Blow Wind Blow” are taken) was another success, as was The London Muddy Waters Sessions (“Young Fashioned Ways”), released in 1973, which essentially took the premise of Fathers And Sons and moved the location to England with British musicians like Steve Winwood, Rory Gallagher, Ric Grech and Mitch Mitchell on board.

The Can’t Get No Grindin’ album arrived in the same year but after almost three decades together the relationship between Muddy and Chess Records (which had been bought by GRT and no member of the Chess family still worked there) had run its course and the two parted ways in 1976. Muddy left the ailing label on a high, however. His last Chess album, Muddy Waters’ Woodstock Album (‘Let the Good Times Roll’) gaining him a Grammy.

Muddy Waters is, along with Howlin’ Wolf, John Lee Hooker and B.B King, for many the foremost representative of blues music within modern pop culture. Muddy has been parodied in Family Guy, has been heard all over the filmography of Martin Scorcese, and with the album Electric Mud, has had a huge influence on hip hop with the likes of Gorillaz, The Roots, Public Enemy and Cypress Hill all taking from it. The mega-bands of the 1960s and 1970s – The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, The Who, Cream, Led Zeppelin et al – simply wouldn’t have sounded like they do if Muddy Waters hadn’t jumped on the Greyhound Bus to Chicago in the early 1940s in search of his destiny.

Follow Muddy Waters:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

Can’t Be Satisfied - Tracklisting:


  1. Gypsy Woman
  2. I Can't Be Satisfied
  3. Train Fare Home
  4. Rollin' and Tumblin' Part 1
  5. Rollin' Stone
  6. Walkin' Blues
  7. Louisiana Blues
  8. Honey Bee
  9. Turn the Lamp Down Low
  10. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
  11. Just Make Love To Me
  12. I'm Ready
  13. Mannish Boy
  14. Sugar Sweet (I Can't Call Her Sugar)
  15. Trouble No More
  16. Close to You (Live at Newport Jazz Festival, 1960)
  17. I Feel So Good (Live at Newport Jazz Festival, 1960)
  18. I Got My Brand on You
  19. You Shook Me
  20. You Need Love


  1. Five Long Years
  2. She's Nineteen Years Old
  3. I Got My Mojo Working
  4. The Same Thing
  5. My Home Is In The Delta
  6. Big Leg Woman
  7. Can't Lose What You Ain't Never Had
  8. My John The Conquer Root
  9. Short Dress Woman
  10. Corine, Corina
  11. Birdnest on the Ground
  12. Mannish Boy (Electric Mudversion)
  13. Herbert Harper's Free Press News
  14. Screamin' and Cryin'
  15. Long Distance Call (Live, 1969, Super Cosmic Jamboree)
  16. Country Boy (Live at Mr Kelly’s, 1971)
  17. Blow Wind Blow (Live at Mr Kelly’s, 1971)
  18. Young Fashioned Ways
  19. Can't Get No Grindin'
  20. Let The Good Times Roll