Open Nav

Peter Gabriel Third Set in Series of Half-Speed Remasters: The Soundtracks, July 28


45RPM Re-issues of Birdy, Passion and Long Walk Home


“Sounding fantastically clear and punchy they track Gabriel’s breakthrough from middle-list cult artist to stadium-strafing pop star.” 9/10, Uncut Magazine

“Individually numbered with download cards, these imposing audio-visual monuments are well worth Gabriel’s many fans splashing out on.” Prog Magazine

“I’ve always loved film music and I’ve been lucky enough create music for three very different kinds of film, that became the albums ‘Birdy', ‘Passion' and 'Long Walk Home'. All the films share strong stories and memorable performances. In each case they also have musical directors in the shape of Alan Parker, Martin Scorsese and Phillip Noyce, who really care about, and feel, the music they work with. They each allowed me to create moods and atmospheres within the music that I felt could serve their narrative.

I still love all the possibilities and different disciplines involved in working for film and I’m pleased that people will have the chance to re-visit the work on these records with these vinyl re-issues.” – Peter Gabriel.

27 APRIL 2017 (Toronto, ON) - Over the last two years, Peter Gabriel’s seven studio albums have been reissued on vinyl to much critical acclaim. Continuing the series it is now the turn of his three Soundtrack albums to receive the same treatment. Birdy, Passion, and Long Walk Home have been Half-Speed Remastered and cut to lacquers at 45RPM to deliver maximum dynamic range in the sound. Birdy and Long Walk Home are released across 2 x heavyweight LPs whilst Passion is on 3 x heavyweight LPs with music on five sides and a special etching on the sixth side. The vinyl was cut by Matt Colton at Alchemy Mastering, mastered by Tony Cousins at Metropolis and overseen by Peter’s main sound engineer Richard Chappell. This is the first time that Long Walk Home has been available on vinyl. The albums will be released on Real World via Caroline International/Universal Music Canada, the country's leading music company. Gatefold sleeves utilize imagery from the original LPs + additional film stills and all images are newly re-scanned. Contains a download card with a choice of digital download (Hi-Res 24bit or 16bit). Limited Editions and Numbered, now available for pre-order at Currently Peter Gabriel remains in the studio working on new music. TRACKLISTINGS: PETER GABRIEL - Birdy 2-LP / PGLPRBIRX | 884108005095
  • A1             At Night
  • A2             Floating Dogs
  • A3             Quiet and Alone
  • B1             Close Up (from Family Snapshot)
  • B2             Slow Water
  • B3             Dressing the Wound
  • C1             Birdy's Flight (from Not One Of Us)
  • C2             Slow Marimbas
  • C3             The Heat (from The Rhythm of the Heat)
  • D1             Sketchpad with Trumpet and Voice
  • D2             Under Lock and Key (from Wallflower)
  • D3             Powerhouse at the Foot of the Mountain (from San Jacinto)
Birdy marks the first occasion that Peter worked with producer Daniel Lanois who went onto co-produce both Peter’s So and US albums. The soundtrack to the Alan Parker movie of the same it finds Peter flexing his creative muscles free of any commercial pressures and has a number of tracks built out of elements of existing tracks from Peter’s third and fourth solo albums. PETER GABRIEL - Passion 3-LP / RWRLPR1X | 884108005132
  • A1             The Feeling Begins
  • A2             Gethsemane
  • A3             Of These, Hope
  • A4             Lazarus Raised
  • A5             Of These, Hope - Reprise
  • B1             In Doubt
  • B2             A Different Drum
  • B3             Zaar
  • B4             Troubled
  • C1             Open
  • C2             Before Night Falls
  • C3             With This Love
  • C4             Sandstorm
  • C5             Stigmata
  • D1             Passion
  • D2             With This Love - Choir
  • D3             Wall of Breath
  • E1             The Promise of Shadows
  • E2             Disturbed
  • E3             It is Accomplished
  • E4             Bread and Wine
  • F                Etching (no music)
Passion – Music for The Last Temptation of Christ was released a year after Martin Scorsese’s controversy-laden film and tends to be regarded as a work in its own right rather than just being a movie soundtrack. It features additional music than was included in the film; this extra material was the result of Peter continuing to record and to resolve “unfinished ideas”. PETER GABRIEL - Long Walk Home 2-LP / PGLPR10X | 884108005187
  • A1             Jigalong
  • A2             Stealing the Children
  • A3             Unlocking the Door
  • A4             The Tracker
  • A5             Running to the Rain
  • B1             On the Map
  • B2             A Sense of Home
  • B3             Go Away Mr Evans
  • B4             Moodoo's Secret
  • B5             Gracie's Recapture
  • C1             Crossing the Salt Pan
  • C2             The Return (Parts 1, 2 and 3)
  • D1             Ngankarrparni (Sky Blue - Reprise)
  • D2             The Rabbit-Proof Fence
  • D3             Cloudless
Long Walk Home is an album based on the music from the film Rabbit Proof Fence. Written and produced by Peter, the album is the end result of two years work with the film’s director Phillip Noyce and brings together a multitude of different musical origins, cultures, instruments and vocalists. The companion to Peter Gabriel’s Passion album, entitled Passion Sources, is also being re-issued on 28 July as part of a series of vinyl releases on Real World Records. The selection of classic albums includes Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Geoffrey Oryema, Ayub Ogada, Papa Wemba, and Martyn Bennett - some of which have been out of print on LP for many years and others are making their vinyl debut. Each album is a cornerstone of the Real World catalogue. More details at