Open Nav




The Acoustic Sandy Denny

04 FEBRUARY 2016 (Toronto, ON) - I’ve Always Kept A Unicorn is the best album that the late Sandy Denny never made. Set for April 22 release via Island/Universal Music Canada, the country's leading music company, this 40-track/2CD set, comprised of demos, live, radio and TV recordings, captures the sublimely gifted British singer-songwriter at her most intimate as she runs through stripped down arrangements of songs she performed with the Strawbs, Fairport Convention, Fotheringay and The Bunch, along with material from her four solo albums. Exclusive to this masterful set are three demos recorded at Richard Branson’s Manor Studios in December 1971 for the 1972 rock and roll covers album, The Bunch Rock On; alongside Love Made A Fool Of You and Learning The Game by one of her teenage heroes, Buddy Holly, she sings a charming duet with Linda Thompson on Phil Everly’s When Will I Be Loved. The set comes complete with sleeve notes by Mick Houghton, the author of the critically lauded 2015 Sandy Denny biography, I’ve Always Kept A Unicorn. All those who knew Sandy Denny well, and who worked closely with her, recall how brilliant she was as a solo acoustic performer and many welcome this compilation as fitting homage to her unique and true talent. “Sandy was, as are our most brilliant performers, much better solo; I so wish she had recorded a solo album, and told her so.” (Linda Thompson) DISC ONE
  1. Who Knows Where the Time Goes - Acoustic version – The Strawbs & Sandy Denny
  2. You Never Wanted Me (Saga album version) – Sandy Denny
  3. Milk and Honey (re-recorded version) – Sandy Denny
  4. Autopsy (demo) – Fairport Convention
  5. Now And Then (demo) – Fairport Convention
  6. She Moves Through the Fair (acoustic master) – Fairport Convention
  7. Fotheringay (acoustic master) – Fairport Convention
  8. The Pond and the Stream (demo) – Fotheringay
  9. Winter Winds (demo) – Fotheringay
  10. Wild Mountain Thyme (BBC Sounds of the Seventies) – Fotheringay
  11. Lowlands of Holland (BBC Folk On One) – Fotheringay
  12. Wretched Wilbur (demo) – Sandy Denny
  13. The Optimist (demo) – Sandy Denny
  14. Late November (BBC One In Ten) – Sandy Denny
  15. North Star Grassman and the Ravens (BBC Paris Theatre) – Sandy Denny
  16. Next Time Around (BBC Paris Theatre) – Sandy Denny
  17. John The Gun (BBC Paris Theatre) – Sandy Denny
  18. Love’s Made A Fool Of You ( demo ) – The Bunch Previously Unreleased
  19. When Will I Be Loved ( demo ) – The Bunch Previously Unreleased
  20. Learning the Game (demo) – The Bunch Previously Unreleased
  1. Quiet Joys of Brotherhood (demo) – Sandy Denny
  2. After Halloween ( demo ) – Sandy Denny
  3. The Lady (demo # 2) – Sandy Denny
  4. Bushes and Briars (live - BBC Bob Harris Show ) – Sandy Denny
  5. The Music Weaver (demo) – Sandy Denny
  6. No End (demo - piano version) – Sandy Denny
  7. Solo (BBC John Peel Session - acoustic version) – Sandy Denny
  8. Like and Old Fashioned Waltz (BBC John Peel Session - acoustic version)
  9. King and Queen of England (demo) – Sandy Denny
  10. Rising For The Moon (demo) – Fairport Convention
  11. One More Chance (demo) – Fairport Convention
  12. Take away the load (demo) – Fairport Convention
  13. What Is True? (demo) – Fairport Convention
  14. Blackwaterside ( live on Marc Time ) – Sandy Denny
  15. No More Sad Refrains ( live on Marc Time ) – Sandy Denny
  16. Full Moon (demo) – Sandy Denny
  17. I’m A Dreamer (demo # 2) – Sandy Denny
  18. By The Time It Gets Dark (studio demo 1976) – Sandy Denny
  19. One Way Donkey Ride (acoustic master 1976) - – Sandy Denny
  20. Moments ( acoustic version ) – Sandy Denny