Open Nav

Seal and Frank Sinatra Duet on Christmas Single “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town”

For immediate release

Seal and Frank Sinatra Duet on Christmas Single “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town”


Single to be Released on Friday, December 8

November 24 2017 (Toronto, ON) – British soul legend Seal has announced he will duet with one of the most iconic artists in history, Frank Sinatra. Performing the Christmas classic, “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town”, the track will feature Seal and Sinatra singing side by side in harmony creating a unique, one-off single just in time for the festive season.

Ahead of Frank Sinatra’s birthday on December 12, the dream collaboration, granted by the Frank Sinatra Estate, will be released on Friday, December 8 via Virgin/Decca/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. It will be accompanied by an exclusively commissioned video showcasing both artists at their very best.

“To play with Frank’s musicians on Standards was quite something, but to perform with the man himself is beyond words,” said Seal.

Originally written by John Federick Coots and Haven Gillespie, the song was first performed in 1934. Over the years, “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” has been covered by over 200 artists, has sold millions of copies, and has gone on to become an archetypal Christmas standard known the world over.

This single continues Seal’s recent affiliation with Ol’ Blue Eyes as it follows his album, Standards, which features legendary musicians who played with Frank Sinatra such as pianist Randy Waldman. The album also includes other legends, Chuck Berghofer (bass player with Ella Fitzgerald and Ray Charles) and Greg Fields (drummer with Quincy Jones and Stevie Wonder).

The songs were recorded in the famous Capitol Records (the very studio where Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Nat “King” Cole and many others have recorded), and United Studios, which was established by Bing Crosby and Frank Sinatra.

Standards is a natural successor to his series of soul records which have sold over 5 million copies around the world. The album hears Seal’s signature, velvety warm vocals bring to life classics made popular by Frank Sinatra (such as “Luck Be A Lady”, “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” and “It Was A Very Good Year”), Ella Fitzgerald (“I’m Beginning to See The Light”) and Nina Simone (“I Put A Spell on You”). Elsewhere, there are lush orchestral moments captured on “Smile” (Charlie Chaplin) and the Cole Porter gem, “Love For Sale”.

The sound of Seal’s new album was also shaped by three renowned collaborators: Grammy-nominated British producer Nick Patrick (who has worked with luminaries including Tina Turner and Marvin Gaye and has enjoyed huge chart success with his pioneering Elvis orchestral albums), multi Grammy-nominated arranger Chris Walden, and legendary engineer Don Murray.


Follow Seal:

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Seal - Standard

  1. Luck Be A Lady
  2. Autumn Leaves
  3. I Put A Spell on You
  4. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
  5. Anyone Who Knows What Love Is
  6. Love For Sale
  7. My Funny Valentine
  8. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
  9. Smile
  10. I’m Beginning To See The Light (featuring The Puppini Sisters)
  11. It Was A Very Good Year
  12. The Nearness of You*
  13. Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow*
  14. Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting)*

*Deluxe Edition only