Open Nav




With the blessing of the Moloney Family, The Chieftains and Claddagh Records release a complete career retrospective, featuring over 60 audio and visual tracks from the world’s most celebrated traditional Irish band.


“Over the last few months Paddy was instrumental in putting the Chronicles project together —whether it was choosing versions of a recording to include, working on the track list, or approving the artwork—he really enjoyed being involved and it meant so much to him seeing this come together on Claddagh Records, The Chieftains first-ever record label, and one which Paddy ran for several years, producing much of its catalogue. We are so happy that he got to see the final version. The album is a fitting tribute to Paddy and The Chieftains.”
—The Moloney Family and The Chieftains.



12 NOVEMBER 2021 (TORONTO, ON) - In advance of their 60th anniversary next year, The Chieftains have released Chronicles: 60 years of The Chieftains today through Claddagh Records/Universal Music Canada, the country's leading music company. The project, which has been in production for the last twelve months, was postponed following the untimely death of Paddy Moloney, the group’s founder and leader, in October. However, following consultation with Paddy’s family and the remaining members of The Chieftains, the project has been completed as Paddy wished with the original artwork, track list, liner notes and footage.


Listen to Chronicles: 60 years of The Chieftains HERE


The release marks the first time ever a complete career retrospective from The Chieftains has been released and includes tracks from across the band’s discography—from their very first album release Chieftains 1 right up to their most recent studio album release Voice of Ages—and includes seminal collaborations with The Rolling Stones, Paulo Nutini, Diana Krall, Alison Krauss, Van Morrison, and Sinéad O’Connor. It also includes previously unreleased recordings from Live at The Royal Albert Hall, Live at The Cambridge Folk Festival as well as footage and recordings from the BBC and RTÉ archives. Chronicles: 60 years of The Chieftains will be available across multiple formats including 2CD, 2CD/DVD, 2LP, 3LP (Ireland only), Digital Standard and Digital Deluxe. 


Founded in 1962, winners of six GRAMMY® Awards and an Academy® Award, The Chieftains—founder and leader Paddy Moloney (Uilleann pipes, tin whistle), Matt Molloy (flute), and Kevin Conneff (bodhrán, vocals)—have popularized traditional Irish music world-wide during their 60-year career. Their ability to transcend musical boundaries to blend tradition with modern music has notably hailed them as one of the most renowned and revered musical groups to this day.


Their repertoire was, and is, largely of Ireland. Well-established dance tunes such as Drowsy Maggie and The Chattering Magpie were given a new invigorating life by the group not to mention eminent songs and airs that might be described as their signature tunes. Foremost among these must be Mná na hÉireann (The Women of Ireland) whose haunting melody, composed by Seán Ó Riada, continues to resonate and remain relevant in the twenty-first century. Their instrumental version was released in 1973 on the album The Chieftains 4 and their version of the song, based on the Irish of the eighteenth-century poet Peadar Ó Doirnín, features prominently on the sound- track to the film ‘Barry Lyndon’ released in 1975. Kate Bush, Mike Oldfield, and Sinéad O’Connor are among the famous performers of the piece.


Their inspirational musicianship is reflected on tracks such as Brian Ború’s March from The Chieftains 2 and Carolan’s Welcome on The Chieftains 9 (Boil The Breakfast Early). Drawing from the vast well of Irish tradition, this ensemble blended old and new and remained totally committed to their genre.


As well as the selected audio recordings, Chronicles: 60 years of The Chieftains also includes a bonus DVD that gives an insight to the visual history of the band. The performers’ hairstyles and fashions may have evolved down the years, but even now as they approach their 60th anniversary, that magical experience The Chieftains give their listeners, is as strong and as vibrant as ever.


The Chieftains’ legacy is immense as evident from this collection. Chronicles: 60 years of The Chieftains is a fine tribute to a remarkable group of musicians.



Chronicles: 60 years of The Chieftains track list:


  1. Away We Go Again
  2. The Rocky Road To Dublin (with The Rolling Stones)
  3. The Morning Dew – Live At Massey Hall, Toronto Canada / 1976
  4. Brian Boru's March
  5. Carolina Rua / Reel – The Ladies Pantalettes (with Imelda May)
  6. Round The House And Mind The Dresser
  7. O'Sullivan's March
  8. Danny Boy (with Diana Krall)
  9. The McCarthy Theme / The Wandering (with The RTÉ Concert Orchestra)
  10. Down In The Willow Garden (with Bon Iver)
  11. 6 The Coombe
  12. The Timpán Reel
  13. Drowsy Maggie
  14. Molly Bán (Bawn) (with Alison Krauss)
  15. O'Neill's March – Live At Massey Hall, Toronto, Canada / 1976
  16. The Wind That Shakes The Barley – BBC Live Session / Live At The Cambridge Folk Festival, UK / 1981
  17. Tom Billy's / The Road To Lisdoonvarna / The Merry Sisters (Reels)
  18. The Boyne Hunt / The Mullingar Races / The Five-Mile Chase (Reels)
  19. Hard Times Come Again No More (with Paolo Nutini)


  1. The Foggy Dew
  2. Mná Na hÉireann
  3. My Lagan Love
  4. Carolan’s Welcome
  5. The Long Black Veil (with Mick Jagger)
  6. Boil the Breakfast Early – BBC Live Session From The Cambridge Folk Festival, 1981
  7. Star Of The County Down – Live At The Menagerie, Belfast, Ireland / 1999
  8. Carolan's Concerto – Live At Massey Hall, Toronto, 1976
  9. Ceol Bhriotánach
  10. China To Hong Kong – Live In China
  11. Tabhair Dom Do Lámh – BBC Live Session From The Royal Albert Hall, 1975
  12. Carrickfergus – Live At Symphony Hall, Boston, 1976
  13. Scéal Na gCapall
  14. The French March
  15. Lullaby for the Dead
  16. An Comhra Donn / Murphy’s Hornpipe (Hornpipes)
  17. An Faire
  18. The Humours Of Ballyconnell / Bean An Fhir Rua / Cherish The Ladies – BBC Live Session From The Royal Albert Hall, 1975
  19. The Chattering Magpie
  20. Country Blues
  21. Cotton-Eyed Joe



  1. The Morning Dew – Live On ‘The Late Late Show – Irish Music Special’, 1972, RTÉ
  2. Hewlett – BBC Live Session From ‘The Old Grey Whistle Test’, 1976
  3. Mná Na hÉireann – BBC Live Session From ‘The Old Grey Whistle Test’, 1976
  4. Kerry Slides – BBC Live Session From ‘The Old Grey Whistle Test’, 1976
  5. Miss McDermott / Blind Mary / Planxty Drury – BBC Live Session From The Golder’s Green Hippodrome, 1977
  6. The Chattering Magpie – Live On ‘Meet The Chieftains’, 1976, RTÉ
  7. An Mhaighdean Mhara / Green Grow The Rushes O – Live On ‘Meet The Chieftains’, 1976, RTÉ
  8. George Brabazon – Live On ‘Meet The Chieftains’, 1976, RTÉ
  9. Round The House And Mind The Dresser – Live On ‘Meet The Chieftains’, 1976, RTÉ
  10. Caitlín Triall / The East Clare Reel / Carolan’s Farewell To Music / Banish Misfortune / The Dublin Reel / The Steampacket Reel / The Star Of Munster / The Flogging Reel – Live On ‘Meet The Chieftains’, 1976, RTÉ
  11. Lord Inchiquin – Live At Knappogue Castle, 1977, RTÉ
  12. An Buachaill Caol Dubh – Live At Knappogue Castle, 1977, RTÉ
  13. Limerick Rake – Live At Knappogue Castle, 1977, RTÉ
  14. If I Had Maggie In The Wood – Live At The Cork Opera House, 1978, RTÉ
  15. Sea Image – Live On ‘The Music Show’, 1983, RTÉ
  16. Here’s A Health To The Company – Live At The National Stadium, 1985, RTÉ
  17. The May Morning Dew – Live At The Hollywood Heritage Centre, Co. Wicklow, 1999
  18. An Poc Ar Buile – Live at Teach Siamsa, Dingle, 1999
  19. Give Me Your Hand / The Trip To Durrow / Flogging Reel – Live At Montreux / 1997
  20. Did You Ever Go A Courtin' Uncle Joe – Live At Montreux / 1997