Open Nav



Acclaimed Band’s 13th Studio Album Produced by

Juno Award Winning Gavin Brown

Album’s 2nd Single ‘Streets Ahead’ at Radio starting Friday, August 24

Follows #1 Hit ‘At Transformation’


~ Digital and Physical Album Pre-Order Commences August 28 ~

at and iTunes


(22 August 2012 – Toronto, ON) – Universal Music Canada (UMC), the country’s leading music company today announced that The Tragically Hip will release their highly anticipated new studio album, Now For Plan A on 02 October 2012.  The Tragically Hip’s 13th studio recording, Now For Plan A, follows 2009’s platinum selling We Are The Same.   The first single from the album and current hit, ‘At Transformation’, has dominated Canadian summer airwaves while 2nd single, ‘Streets Ahead’ is set to land at radio on Friday, August 24 and will be available for digital sale from August 28.   Now For Plan A was produced by Gavin Brown at both Noble Street Studios in Toronto and the band’s Bathouse Recording Studio in their native Kingston, ON.  A deluxe version exclusive to iTunes® will include three bonus tracks recorded live from Calgary, AB earlier this summer.   Now For Plan A Track listing:   1. At Transformation 2. Man Machine Poem 3. The Lookahead 4. We Want To Be It 5. Streets Ahead 6. Now For Plan A 7. The Modern Spirit 8. About This Map 9. Take Forever 10. Done And Done 11. Goodnight Attawapiskat   Critically acclaimed for over two decades, The Tragically Hip has been at the heart of the Canadian musical zeitgeist for evoking a strong emotional connection between their music and their fans that remains unrivaled in this country.  A five-piece group of friends including Robby Baker (guitar), Gordon Downie (vocals, guitar), Johnny Fay (drums), Paul Langlois (guitar) and Gord Sinclair (bass), who grew up in Kingston, Ontario, The Hip has achieved the enviable status of a band that enjoys both mass popularity with over 8 million albums sold worldwide, as well as peer recognition through 11 Juno Awards from more than a dozen recordings.   Studio Discography:  The Tragically Hip (1987), Up To Here (1989), Road Apples (1991), Fully Completely (1992), Day For Night (1994), Trouble At The Henhouse (1996), Phantom Power (1998), Music @ Work (2000), In Violet Light (2002), In Between Evolution (2004), World Container (2006), We Are The Same (2009).