Open Nav

Tori Amos Releases New Album, Native Invader

For immediate release

Tori Amos Releases New Album, Native Invader

Native Invader Album Art copy

North American Tour Includes Toronto Show at Massey Hall

08 September 2017 (Toronto, ON) Tori Amos, one of the most successful, prolific and influential artists of her generation, releases her hotly-anticipated new album Native Invader today via Decca Records/Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company.

 Amos’s fifteenth album is an intense feast of melody, protest, tenderness, and pain. In the summer of 2016, she took a road trip with the intention of reconnecting with the stories and songlines of her mother’s family who were from the North Carolina and Tennessee Smoky Mountain area. That winter, two seismic events knocked the plan off its axis: the fallout from the U.S. Presidential election, and her mother suffering a severe stroke that left her unable to speak.

The complex influence of America’s alt-right Super PACs, lobbyists, and think tanks informs much of the tension of Native Invader. “It wasn’t going to be a record of pain, blood, and bone when I began,” she says. “It wasn’t going to be a record of division. But the Muses 9 insisted that I listened and watched the conflicts that were traumatizing the nation and write about those raw emotions. Hopefully people will find strength and resilience within the songs to give them the energy to survive the storms that we are currently in.” The sense of semantic distortion permeates Native Invader. Amos talks of the need to form a “militia of the mind” in the face of national lies. Hidden messages and subliminal protests lend themselves to Amos’s natural playfulness. For all of its dark themes, this album is a joy to absorb, full of warmth and puzzles.

Following 2014’s Unrepentant Geraldines (her eighth Billboard Top 10 album) and more than two decades after her debut studio album, Little Earthquakes (recently hailed by NPR as #27 of their “150 Greatest Albums Made By Women”), Tori’s work is as powerful as ever.

Tori Amos’s extensive North American fall concert schedule kicks off on October 24 with one Canadian date at Massey Hall in Toronto on October 30. The North American concert dates are part of a larger world tour she began this week in Europe.

A pioneer across multiple platforms, Tori was the first major label artist to offer a single for download. Nominated for multiple Grammy Awards, she has had her songs turned into graphic novels and has produced ground-breaking videos throughout her career. A noted humanitarian, Tori is co-founder of RAINN (Rape, Abuse, and Incest National Network) - the largest anti-sexual assault organization in the United States.

Native Invader Tracklisting copy

Follow Tori Amos

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook


Tori Amos – Native Invader

  1. Reindeer King
  2. Wings
  3. Broken Arrow
  4. Cloud Riders
  5. Up The Creek
  6. Breakaway
  7. Wildwood
  8. Chocolate Song
  9. Bang
  10. Climb
  11. Bats
  12. Benjamin
  13. Mary’s Eyes


Canadian Tour Date:     

10/30 - Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall