Open Nav


For immediate release


“… fantastic return to form” – THE GUARDIAN

“U2’s strongest album this century” – MOJO

“A late-career classic. (U2 are) … masters of every inch of their game.” – Q MAGAZINE

01 DECEMBER 2017 (Toronto, ON) – The wait is over. U2’s 14th studio album Songs of Experience is out now on all digital retailers as well as in CD/LP formats via Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. The new album features previously released tracks “Get Out Of Your Own Way”, “You’re The Best Thing About Me” and “The Blackout”. In celebration of its release, U2 is set to perform this weekend on Saturday Night Live, airing December 2 at 11:30pm EST on Global.

Recorded in Dublin, New York and Los Angeles, Songs of Experience was completed earlier this year with its subject matter influenced by the advice given to Bono by the Irish poet, novelist and Professor Emeritus at Trinity College in Dublin, Brendan Kennelly, to “…write as if you’re dead”. The result is a collection of songs in the form of intimate letters to places and people close to the singer’s heart: family, friends, fans and indeed himself.

Songs Of Experience is the companion release to 2014’s Songs Of Innocence, the two titles drawing inspiration from a collection of poems, Songs of Innocence and Experience, by the 18thcentury English mystic and poet William Blake. 

Produced by Jacknife Lee and Ryan Tedder, with Steve Lillywhite, Andy Barlow and Jolyon Thomas, the album features a cover image by Anton Corbijn of band-members’ teenage children Eli Hewson and Sian Evans.

U2’s eXPERIENCE + iNNOCENCE tour is set to kick off on May 2, with two shows in Montreal on June 5 and 6. Full list of tour dates and ticket information online now, and further dates to be announced in 2018.

“Reaffirms the sound that has been filling arenas and stadiums for decades.”—The New York Times

“A thrilling listen… not so much a return to their roots as a modern expedition across their vast reservoir of sounds and themes.” – The Associated Press

"U2's latest finds the band coming to terms with a world closer to the brink than at any time during their career. They meet the moment with precisely the right balance of grandeur and grace… manifests the music's eternal magic, delivered by a band that refuses to let it fade.”— The Rolling Stone


Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube

Songs of Experience Tracklisting (Deluxe):

  1. Love Is All We Have Left
  2. Lights of Home
  3. You’re The Best Thing About Me
  4. Get out of Your Own Way
  5. American Soul
  6. Summer of love
  7. Red Flag Day
  8. The Showman (Little More Better)
  9. The Little Things That Give You Away
  10. Landlady
  11. The Blackout
  12. Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way
  13. 13 (There is a Light) 

*Full tracklisting for standard/LP versions available here.