Open Nav


For immediate release:

This is Us This Is Us: The Complete First Season Arrives on DVD September 12

Season 2 Premieres September 26 at 9PM EST on CTV

15 AUGUST 2017 (TORONTO, ON) – Available now for pre-order, This Is Us (Music from the Series), the musical companion to the globally-adored show is set to release September 15 via Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company.  Three days ahead of its release, This Is Us: The Complete First Season will be available on DVD, so fans can relive the memorable moments alongside the music from the hit show. Combining instantly recognizable hits and classics, an original song and a compelling score, the soundtrack features 20 songs curated by the show’s Creator/Executive Producer, Dan Fogelman, music supervisor Jennifer Pyken and composer/musician Siddhartha Khosla. Each musical element is carefully woven throughout the series with songs that emphasize a clearly defining moment or serve as a gentle guide through the characters’ complex emotional journey.

Nominated for 11 Emmy Awards including “Outstanding Drama Series”, This Is Us chronicles the Pearson family across the decades: from Jack (Milo Ventimiglia) and Rebecca (Mandy Moore) as young parents in the 1980s and 1990s, to their now adult kids Kevin (Justin Hartley), Kate (Chrissy Metz) and Randall (Sterling K. Brown) searching for love, fulfillment and healing in the present day. This grounded, life-affirming dramedy reveals how the events in our lives – both big and small – impact who we become, and how the connections we share with each other can transcend time, distance and even death. Also starring Chris Sullivan, Susan Kelechi Watson and Ron Cephas Jones, This Is Us Season 2 premieres Tuesday, September 26 at 9PM EST on CTV.

The soundtrack opens with the instantly recognizable tone-setting music cue from the series’ debut episode, "Death With Dignity" by Sufjan Stevens, and concludes with Khosla’s, "This Is Us Score Suite". A rare cover version of Peter Gabriel’s, "Come Talk To Me", by Khosla’s critically acclaimed band Goldspot, which has been praised by Gabriel himself, is featured alongside the original version composed by Khosla and Chris Pierce. Performed by Brian Tyree Henry in the pivotal Season 1 episode, “Memphis”, the soulful, Stax-inspired song marked the beginning of the audience’s connection with the show and its characters, topping Billboard’s US Blues Singles chart at #1 for four consecutive weeks and reaching #12 on iTunes’ Top 100 Songs chart.

Being an early fan and supporter of Goldspot, This Is Us creator Dan Fogelman continued with the personal theme of familial relationships by incorporating the band’s track, "Evergreen Cassette (Tape Mix)”, into the show. The song draws on Khosla’s early childhood experience of living in India with his grandparents, while his parents were in the U.S. working and attending graduate school. His only form of communication with his parents was an evergreen-colored cassette tape his mother sent him, so she would speak to him, sing songs and tell him stories.

Available on September 12, This Is Us: The Complete First Season DVD includes all 18 episodes as well as the companion series, The Aftershow, that explores the emotional dramatic performances with the cast and creators.

From the writer and directors of Crazy, Stupid, Love, the team of Dan Fogelman, John Requa and Glenn Ficarra come together again for This Is Us. Produced by 20th Centrury Fox Television, This Is Us is executive produced by Dan Fogelman, Jess Rosenthal, Ken Olin, John Requa, Glenn Ficarra, Charlie Gogolak, Isaac Aptaker, Elizabeth Berger.

Follow This Is Us:

Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

This Is Us (Music from the Series) Track Listing:

  1. Death With Dignity - Sufjan Stevens 
  2. You Can Call Me Al - Paul Simon
  3. Willin’ – Mandy Moore
  4. Can’t Find My Way Home - Blind Faith
  5. Uptight (Everything’s Alright) – Stevie Wonder
  6. The Calvary Cross – Richard Thompson & Linda Thompson
  7. Watch Me – Labi Siffre
  8. The Wind – Cat Stevens
  9. Come Talk To Me – Goldspot
  10. Blues Run The Game – Jackson C. Frank 
  11. If Only – Maria Taylor (featuring Conor Oberst)
  12. Northern Sky - Nick Drake
  13. If I Ever Was A Child - Wilco
  14. Because Of You - Gene Clark
  15. Evergreen Cassette (Tape Mix) – Goldspot
  16. Without You – Badfinger
  17. The World’s Smiling Now - Jim James
  18. Photograph – Ringo Starr
  19. We Can Always Come Back To This - Brian Tyree Henry
  20. This Is Us Score Suite - Siddhartha Khosla